Hacking Boot9strap installation -

K0D1M

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 11, 2017
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
53
Country
Greece
I followed step by step the guide for the arm9loaderhax to boot9strap upgrade. In one step says to press start to boot safeb9installer but when i do that it boots to godmode9 instead of safeb9onstaller. How can i change that?
 
Last edited by K0D1M,

Majickhat55

The Red Woman
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
4,936
Trophies
1
Age
35
Location
Asshai
XP
2,948
Country
United States
I followed step by step the guide for the arm9loaderhax to boot9strap upgrade. In one step says to press start to boot safeb9installer but when i do that it boots to godmode9 instead of safeb9onstaller. How can i change that?
The old Luma chainloader requires files to be linked to a button.... So rename safeB9SInstaller... to "X_SafeB9SInstaller.bin" and put it in Luma/payloads. Then hold "X" before you press power.

If that doesn't work, then rename SafeB9SInstaller.bin to "arm9loaderhax.bin" and put it on the root of your SD card replacing Luma. Your console will automatically boot to the installer.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Also, heads up before you think you messed up; you're console won't boot after installing B9S UNTIL you update Luma.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
34,888
Trophies
3
XP
24,228
Country
United States
if you're on b9s, it loading godmode is due to godmode being the only payload in the payloads folder. with the new chainloader, it will boot the only payload available if there's only one in there. if there's two or more, you should be presented with a menu.
 

K0D1M

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 11, 2017
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
53
Country
Greece
I was messing with godmod9 right now and i found that i can install boot9 from there. It says install to firm0 firm1 or both. May i ibstall from here just to make sure i have installed it?
 

Majickhat55

The Red Woman
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
4,936
Trophies
1
Age
35
Location
Asshai
XP
2,948
Country
United States
I was messing with godmod9 right now and i found that i can install boot9 from there. It says install to firm0 firm1 or both. May i ibstall from here just to make sure i have installed it?
YOU ALREADY HAVE B9S installed.... What are you trying to do?
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
34,888
Trophies
3
XP
24,228
Country
United States
I'd suggest using the safe installer. I've never installed b9s in that way, so if you don't know what you're doing, you could brick the system. is there a arm9loaderhax.bin on your sd card or a boot.firm?
 

Majickhat55

The Red Woman
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
4,936
Trophies
1
Age
35
Location
Asshai
XP
2,948
Country
United States
This thread is infuriating.... The fact you're using Luma 8.1.1 CONFIRMS you already have B9S installed and at least version 1.2..... WHY ARE YOU TRYING TO INSTALL SOMETHING YOU HAVE?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I'd suggest using the safe installer. I've never installed b9s in that way, so if you don't know what you're doing, you could brick the system. is there a arm9loaderhax.bin on your sd card or a boot.firm?
Dude, Luma 8.1.1 only works on B9S....... Da fuck?
 

Majickhat55

The Red Woman
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
4,936
Trophies
1
Age
35
Location
Asshai
XP
2,948
Country
United States
I know, but there's no telling what he has on there if he doesn't know whether he installed b9s.
The fact he's using that version confirms he's using it..... He doesn't need to do anything else. Arm9loaderhax files aren't compatible so there is no risk of incompatibilities or anything. It boggles my mind how hard it is to follow simple instructions......

"Doesn't know whether he installed B9S"..... HE DID!! And confirmed it, regardless if he thinks he didn't or not, he did. He needs to listen.
 

K0D1M

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 11, 2017
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
53
Country
Greece
The truth is that i tried to install it when it came out in May i think. But i dont remember if i did it correctly
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
34,888
Trophies
3
XP
24,228
Country
United States
you update b9s with the safe installer if that's what you're trying to do. I can't recall how long ago version 3 came out. there may be a later version? I have version 3 on my system. version 2 and 3 use the same safe installer even though, I believe, the instructions are for version 2.
 

Majickhat55

The Red Woman
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
4,936
Trophies
1
Age
35
Location
Asshai
XP
2,948
Country
United States
you update b9s with the safe installer if that's what you're trying to do. I can't recall how long ago version 3 came out. there may be a later version? I have version 3 on my system. version 2 and 3 use the same safe installer even though, I believe, the instructions are for version 2.
8.1.1 ONLY works with v 1.2 and above.... As I said. OP has version 1.2 of Boot9Strap at the least.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: currently banned