Hacking Boot TTMenu instead of YSmenu

MrArcade

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
United States
If you would prefer to boot to the TTMENU with the icons etc, please don't take the advice given earlier:

DON"T "Delete the TTMENU.DAT and rename TTMENU.nds in TTMENU.DAT
You will start on DSTT menu "

Instead, DO rename TTMENU.dat to YSmenu.nds, then rename TTMENU.nds to TTMENU.dat

Now you will boot into TTMENU, and YSmenu will be in your list in case you need it to boot a game that won't boot in TTMENU
 

Etalon

Former Akaio Fanboy
Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
1,204
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
35
Country
Macau
Errr... Yes.

But who gave you the advice to delete the YSMenu file?
glare.gif
 

jurassicplayer

Completionist Themer
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
4,475
Trophies
1
Location
Pantsuland
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
2,469
Country
United States
I'm at a loss of why even have a thread like this...only an idiot wouldn't realize that if you want to boot TTMenu instead of YSMenu, they wouldn't need to rename ysmenu.nds in the first place...The only way for someone to have started with a TTMenu.dat and not know this would be because they got their files from someplace that should not be hosting those files, in which case, I must search it out and do something about it.
 

bitonio6

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2009
Messages
1,801
Trophies
0
XP
47
Country
Swaziland
MrArcade said:
If you would prefer to boot to the TTMENU with the icons etc, please don't take the advice given earlier:

DON"T "Delete the TTMENU.DAT and rename TTMENU.nds in TTMENU.DAT
You will start on DSTT menu "

Instead, DO rename TTMENU.dat to YSmenu.nds, then rename TTMENU.nds to TTMENU.dat

Now you will boot into TTMENU, and YSmenu will be in your list in case you need it to boot a game that won't boot in TTMENU
I have a DSTT, i use a DSTT kernel, is easy to understand no?

The "TTMENU.NDS" from the pack, is a stupidity from Retro...

He could propose on other simple thing:

1 folder with inside the 5 files for DSTT kernel
2 Another folder for the user of YSmenu (R4, M3 Simply, etc...)

it would have been easier
 

longodongo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 17, 2010
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
United States
MrArcade said:
If you would prefer to boot to the TTMENU with the icons etc, please don't take the advice given earlier:

DON"T "Delete the TTMENU.DAT and rename TTMENU.nds in TTMENU.DAT
You will start on DSTT menu "

Instead, DO rename TTMENU.dat to YSmenu.nds, then rename TTMENU.nds to TTMENU.dat

Now you will boot into TTMENU, and YSmenu will be in your list in case you need it to boot a game that won't boot in TTMENU
I tried every which way mentioned here,including this way,to boot directly to ttds menu when turning on ds. None work. If renaming ttemnu.dat to anything else,i automatically get the letters menu in black inside of a white box,then in turns into red letters which also spell menu but with a ? at the end of menu,and it will be stuck there. If there's a guru who really knows how to do this,so retro gamefan's files will look exactly like ndstt.com files,i wish that person can post exactly how to do it,on an original dstt card. I ask this because retrogamefan updates his files so often,and i would like to keep the dstt up to date ,but with the original dstt menu on startup. the dstt menu is easier to navigate than the ysmenu,and the skins also are better looking. thanks.
 

vamorex3000

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Location
United Kingdom (The Antartic)
Website
Visit site
XP
189
Country
MrArcade said:
If you would prefer to boot to the TTMENU with the icons etc, please don't take the advice given earlier:

DON"T "Delete the TTMENU.DAT and rename TTMENU.nds in TTMENU.DAT
You will start on DSTT menu "

Instead, DO rename TTMENU.dat to YSmenu.nds, then rename TTMENU.nds to TTMENU.dat

Now you will boot into TTMENU, and YSmenu will be in your list in case you need it to boot a game that won't boot in TTMENU

Ran into the same problem I had before when trying this, Renaming TTMENU
 

GMTN

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
25
Trophies
0
XP
73
Country
Canada
You no longer have to do that with Retro's V643. He separated the TTmenu and YSmenu into different folders. Another great update.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: On the Wii I think you use a different loader?