Blast Works and Gamma

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Wattson, Dec 8, 2008.

Dec 8, 2008

Blast Works and Gamma by Wattson at 6:00 AM (1,076 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Wattson
    OP

    Newcomer Wattson Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Any compatability issues here?

    I burned a scrubbed ISO of Blast Works onto a Philips DVD-R at 4x (which worked fine for Animal Crossing and the new Sonic so far), and it just loads into a black screen on the Wii. It's possible it was a bad burn, and I was using my computer while it was burning it so possibly that created a problem (I didn't touch the computer while the other two games burned), but I don't want to burn it again just to find out I needed a different IOS installed or something.

    Thanks. [​IMG]
     
  2. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    I don't see anyone else having problems with it in the noncomp. list so it should work fine.
     
  3. Raziel5000

    Member Raziel5000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    try using Imgburn at 2.4 spd. also might want to try a different brand in dvd-r's, maybe verbatim. lol i am sold on verbatim. i have had flawless burns. only games that won't run are just not compatible with gamma. thats it!!
     
  4. Distrance

    Member Distrance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Sylvarant
    Country:
    Finland
    That happens atleast on wad files to me if they're of a different region. You could try downloading the game again in different region ( or use the iso patcher if that works ).. Just in case.
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Do you like coasters? NEVER burn DVD-Rs at 2.4x, it's a DVD+R only burning speed.

    *edit: nevermind
     
  6. Wattson
    OP

    Newcomer Wattson Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    It's NTSC-U and from a trusted source (plus was uploaded months before it came out in PAL), and I'm also NTSC-U.

    I think it was just a bad burn, I'm gonna give it another shot at 2x (I felt it burned way too fast for 4x anyways).

    edit @WiiPower: I can't remember what speeds my drive supports (pretty sure it's up to 22x) but my discs allow up to 16x. Should I do 8x then?
     
  7. Distrance

    Member Distrance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Sylvarant
    Country:
    Finland
    Bad burn ? I don't think so, such thing does not even exist. I burn all my games on 16x and listen music & might even play games same time, and the burns NEVER fail. The problem is elsewhere on your case.
     
  8. madtamski

    Member madtamski GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I select max in Imgburn on my 16x DVD-R's and all the backups work fine [​IMG]
     
  9. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    Look at what the disc supports and then burn half of the highest. 8x is usually a good speed.
     
  10. kingant

    Newcomer kingant Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Venezuela
    it works perfect for me. 1:1 DVD-R burned at 4x (Ridata DVD-r, 8x Max)
     

Share This Page