Black wii D3-2 replacement

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ginkster, Dec 23, 2009.

Dec 23, 2009

Black wii D3-2 replacement by ginkster at 12:05 PM (5,112 Views / 0 Likes) 32 replies

  1. ginkster
    OP

    Newcomer ginkster Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys

    Hope you can help me out here. I have used the search button but I dont like the new layout as I cant seem to find the answer to anything I type into it lol

    Right I just bought a black wii for my other sister this time for xmas. I softmodded it all went ok thats not a problem. My problem is its got the new drive or chipset in it and I get dvd error 1054 or summat like that i cant remember but I was expecting it anyway.

    I have read about replacing the dvd drive. But I just need to know if its the drive or the board with the chipset on that needs replacing??

    I have looked on flea bay and it seems to be the board.

    TIA

    Ginkster
     


  2. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Just buy a replacement drive from OzModChips.com!
     
  3. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
  4. ginkster
    OP

    Newcomer ginkster Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanx for quick replies guys I really do appreciate it.

    one last question which would be the best drive to get or dont it matter??

    o and merry xmas btw

    Ginkster
     
  5. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Any non-D3-2 Drive will do. The D2-somethings are most common.

    D2C and D2B seem to be the easiest to find. Occasionally you see a D2A, D2E, or a DMS unit. All wii drives fit in all wiis.

    You can try to sell the D3-2 to some sucker on ebay who doesn't know about softmods, but they don't go for much. Saw one for $15 (mechanics+board) the other day.
     
  6. ginkster
    OP

    Newcomer ginkster Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks techboy and to rest of you for replies really do apreciate it.

    I will be getting one in new year I looked on ebay and they are going for around £35 here in uk.

    I can softmod a wii with my eyes closed now but I have never been inside one so I dont know much about the mechanical side of them and I dont go jumping in feet first without being 100% sure of what im doing. I didnt even install preloader till about 3 months ago coz I was scared too lol

    So thank you again to you all and have a lovely xmas and happy new year!!
     
  7. John_Ice

    Newcomer John_Ice Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi, you have another solution which is pretty fast too and cost less... You change the chip on you drive... Buy this kit :

    http://www.modchipcentral.com/store/produc...t=28&page=1

    Good luck..
     
  8. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    That would work for him, but it requires soldering to make some of the connections. A new drive just plugs in and works.
     
  9. John_Ice

    Newcomer John_Ice Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes I know but it's much expensive than just buy the mod chip... Anyway, he have to decide what he want to do :-)
     
  10. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    That's what i wrote in #3 and it's not only the chip, it's the whole dvd drive mainboard.
     
  11. mattjd

    Member mattjd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Malvern
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  12. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why not pay a little bit more and go the usb loader route?
     
  13. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    +1. My Wii also has the new drive, and I went the USB Loader route and I wouldn't want to go to DVDs. Things load so much faster off of a hard drive, and if you get the right hard drive then you won't have any problems at all. As long as you have Waninkoko's and Hermes's cIOSes you're good to go, which was all provided via xzxero's guide for me.
     
  14. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
  15. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    It cost 78.93€, for two drives i can get a new wii. [​IMG]


    A simple dvd mainboard cost around 20-30€.

    Sure, you need also a solder tip but you can buy a simple one that is good enough for the six wires for < 10€.

    Thats 50% from a whole drive.
     
  16. badbulll

    Newcomer badbulll Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Slovenia
    After you replace D3-2 board with new D2C, is it possible to softmod Wii, or is it necessary to install modhcip in order to run backups from DVD and install HBC etc?
     
  17. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can just go ahead and softmod as normal, no midchip required. The new drive should then be able to read DVD-Rs
     
  18. badbulll

    Newcomer badbulll Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Slovenia
    TNX

    You tried that already? Because all sites suggest Wiikey2 install. I need DVD drive only for watching DVD/Divx movies, that's why there is no need for modchip, softmod and neogamma loader for running those few Wii DVD backups will do.
     
  19. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ive not seen that, Ive just read that replacing board/chipset will suffice. Im only going off what Ive read
     
  20. afnuke

    Member afnuke GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Tornado Alley
    Country:
    United States
    why use the wii to play dvd's........its lot cheaper to use a dvd player to play dvd's. our pawn shop has them for 20 dollars. ???????

    The wii should be for games. I would recommend usb loading and I got a 60 gig maxtor drive for 25 dollars (used) that works great and bought a used wii that wont read disc cheap off ebay.....my kids love it.
     

Share This Page