Banner Brick

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by NickHu, Sep 22, 2009.

  1. NickHu
    OP

    NickHu Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Sep 22, 2009
    Hi all,
    I banner bricked my Wii with a bad WAD (using WADder for the first time =O).
    I'm on System Menu 4.1E with Waninkoko's System Updater
    My system history was this 3.4E->3.2E->4.0E(Waninkoko)->4.1E(Waninkoko)
     
  2. xzxero

    xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Member
    3,831
    28
    Jul 18, 2008
    United States
    SB
    why would you something like that when many others including I have fallen to the same fate?

    Theres many warnings when using Wadder and you just decided not to read none of them and think your wii was invincible?

    This is the only help ill give you
     
  3. NickHu
    OP

    NickHu Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Sep 22, 2009
    Thanks for "helping".
    Don't be a jerk
    I'm asking for help here, not insulting your mother
    I didn't know WADs could brick your Wii prior to bricking
    Can anyone actually help?
     
  4. ddp127

    ddp127 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    449
    0
    Jan 14, 2009
    Netherlands
    other than waiting for a pal version of smashstack or buying a modchip, i dont see any way to recover
     
  5. Lothlorian

    Lothlorian GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    207
    0
    Jul 9, 2009
    United States
    Berdoo
    Well lets see......

    You didn't install Pre-loader .... No help here. [​IMG]

    You didn't install Bootmii in any form.... No help here [​IMG]

    Only solution for you would be SMASH STACK on bootup so you could run Wad Manager to remove the Bad Wad you created.

    Seeing as you have a PAL Wii and the Smash Stack only works with the NTSC-U version of Brawl then I'm sorry there is not much you can do.

    Possibly if you buy a mod chip you might be able to boot up an UNBRICK disk. I have heard of these disks but never tried one out (Never bricked my Wii) because I don't have a Mod Chip. It would be a burned DVD-R disk so without a Mod Chip there would be no way to boot it up.
     
  6. NickHu
    OP

    NickHu Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Sep 22, 2009
    Thanks guys, but do you think if I buy a NTSC Smash Bros it could work?
     
  7. Deviyl

    Deviyl GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    418
    0
    Oct 2, 2008
    United States
    Just making sure you didn't miss that..
     
  8. NickHu
    OP

    NickHu Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Sep 22, 2009
    What I meant was, cause I have StartPatch (Starfall for 4.1....) And all the region-free patches ON, would I be able to boot NTSC Smash Bros if I imported it? Or does the recovery menu not load that stuff?
     
  9. Retrievil

    Retrievil GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    360
    7
    Jul 6, 2006
    Canada
    Vancouver
    It's possible if the region free stuff is working through Startpatch, that you could book NTSC SSB. Might be worth a try if you can get a cheap copy. Would be a lot less hassle than a modchip.

    Anyone you know have any NTSC game you could try before you buy SSB?
     
  10. vettacossx

    vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Member
    1,329
    32
    Sep 19, 2008
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    xzxero was not being mean to you...he was simply being honest with you...He HELPS MORE USERS A DAY than most people will there entire time here...So AGAIN it might be best to to read up before you ACT on your own faulty assumptions...To be honest with you again...Thats how you ended up where you are right now...
     
  11. Dippy1981

    Dippy1981 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Sep 13, 2009
    what's the point in going on and on about what he SHOULD have done? what's done is done. yes it's his own fault but lets not dwell on it, the guy's here to try and find a solution, not for a lecture.

    i wouldn't waste your money buying an NTSC version of SSBB, it has an in-built check to stop it from autobooting. you'll get a message asking you to "Please Insert Super Smash Bros Brawl Game Disc". the PAL version does support autobooting however, so as far as i can see your best bet is to wait for a PAL version of smashstack to (hopefully) be released.
     
  12. l_buddha

    l_buddha Member

    Newcomer
    19
    0
    Sep 8, 2009
    France
    Hi NickHu !

    I got exactly the same problem with my Wii... I've tried all the common solutions without any benefits :/

    Now I've installed a modchip in my Wii but the autoboot isn't set by default, so I need to configure it on an other Wii. This is my last hope...

    So, for me your last hope is to install a modchip allowing autoboot and launch a Anytitledeleter/wadmanager/HBC autoboot DVD to remove the corrupted WAD.

    I'll try as soon as my friend give me his Wii... and give a reply.
     
  13. NickHu
    OP

    NickHu Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Sep 22, 2009
    Thanks for the replies guys, so you're saying a NTSC Smash Bros that I BUY wouldn't boot in the recovery menu with the StartPatch hacks?