Banner Brick 4.0U

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mshaheen_95, Jul 2, 2009.

Jul 2, 2009

Banner Brick 4.0U by mshaheen_95 at 9:08 AM (3,037 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. mshaheen_95
    OP

    Newcomer mshaheen_95 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Jordan
    I bricked my 4.0(officially updated) wii using a bad forwarder wad. I searched nearly everywhere but I couldnt find anything
    . Here is my wii status:

    I have a modchip not sure whats the name but it allows me to play copied games

    My system menu is 4.0(USA) updated with system settings

    I did downgrade my IOS before getting bricked(for using geckoOS with channels)

    No starfall nor preloader
     


  2. 2yugimoto

    Member 2yugimoto GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Philidelphia
    Country:
    United States
    ok unless you dont have bootmii as ur last option...

    then your FUCKED!!!
     
  3. mshaheen_95
    OP

    Newcomer mshaheen_95 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Jordan
    No don't have Bootmii and btw thanks for the help (you're...FUCKED!!)
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
  5. mshaheen_95
    OP

    Newcomer mshaheen_95 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Jordan
    Isn't there anyway other than a Drivechip???

    Sorry didnt look carefully
    But I heard that if your IOS have been downgraded you can still use the trucha bug(thats the hole i'm looking for)
     
  6. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    You have a drivechip (modchip). If it can boot with an autoboot disc your saved. If not try Savemiifrii (search about it)
     
  7. mshaheen_95
    OP

    Newcomer mshaheen_95 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Jordan
    So do you mean I can boot any autoboot disc from the recovery menu??

    Cause I tried without savemiifrii (booted from the Health and safety screen) and I got an error saying:
    "Error reading disc...etc."
     
  8. pspmte

    Member pspmte GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You wont be able to boot any patched ios because system menu is 4.0 in recovery

    You have 2 options hard wire bootmii into your wii (old wii) with Infectus or wait 20days and buy Wii sports resort then back it up as an .iso and patch it to auto boot to run recovery menu


    Hope this helps
     
  9. jchiesa

    Newcomer jchiesa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    i banner brick my 4.0U wii after installing NeoGamma R5.wad and i dont think i have any protection installed like bootmii. where can i get a recovery disc? am I "fucked" too?
    What options do i have? I have a wiikey2 installed.
     
  10. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    If you can access the recovery mode(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OPIzoqVizoQ) you can try
    an autoboot dvd with wadmanager.
     
  11. jchiesa

    Newcomer jchiesa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I fixed my banner brick by using UUD V2. i burned it using ImgBurn and insert it in my 4.0U ntsc wii with my WiiKeyV2 and it booted into Wad manager 1.3, unistalled NeoGamma_R5.wad and done!!
     
  12. chrisemersonnc

    Newcomer chrisemersonnc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Dude.. you are my only hope! [​IMG]

    I am in the SAME boat as you were (4.0U, no bootmii, no CIOS, but had HBC installed [and neogamma among other channels]).

    However - here's how my situation differs...
    - I tried swapping in an old Wii DVD drive with an original WiiKey chip
    - But nothing will boot (in regular or in rescue mode). I've tried UUDV2, LCUD, Official Nintendo Resuce disc, AutoBooting Twilight Princess, etc...

    I have a DriveKey shipping (will use that on the real/newer Wii DVD drive) and am praying to God I can repeat same steps you did and save my Wii!
     
  13. jchiesa

    Newcomer jchiesa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Chris,
    All I did was burn the UUDV2 ISO with ImgBurn at 4x (as if you are burning a game ISO) and insert it in the Wii's DVD and done. I was able to boot into a WAD manager 1.3 application. Removed the bad WAD (NeoGamma R5.wad) and then restart my wii. I had to reinstall HomeBrew Channel cause it was gone. I recommend you try to burn another ISO of UUDV2 and try it again. Good Luck with your DriveKey!!
     
  14. xDlmaoxD

    Member xDlmaoxD GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    United States
    I agree, fixing a bnnerbrick can be easy if you have a mod chip.
    I don't know why anyone that doesn't know will reply and say you are "fucked"
    They clearly need to read up.
    So just burn an autoboot version of wad manager and uninstall the bad wad.
     
  15. chrisemersonnc

    Newcomer chrisemersonnc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    So - I got my Drivekey today... but sadly it's not the magic fix I was hoping as pretty much no backups work. I can't get ANY of my rescue discs to work (UUDv2, LCUD, Pink Fish, WAD MNGR, AnyTitleDelete...). I've tried super-slow burns, fast burns, burns on iMac, burns on XP, burns on Windows 7, burns with 3 diff kinds of DVD media... nothing works!!.... except 1...

    A backup of Wii Sports Resort does work...

    Can someone explain that for me? How in the world does a burnt backup of Wii Sports Resort boot up with my Drivekey/Bannerbricked Wii, but nothing else will?

    Do I need to find some way to get whatever lets Wii Sports Resort boot injected into one of my rescue discs or something?!?...

    Feels so close.. yet so far away...
     
  16. kornychaos

    Member kornychaos Organized.

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    United States
    i think because it comes with 4.1u update on it, i'm not sure. it'd reinstall the menu since it'd be autobooted(you do this w/ prog) and requires an update.
    edit: then again you said autobooting other stuff didn't work, so idk!
     
  17. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    United States
    because its not trucha signed, your wii wont autoboot any trucha signed disc, if you wait until the Brawl Expoilt comes out you may be able to unbrick your Wii
     
  18. chrisemersonnc

    Newcomer chrisemersonnc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    But shouldn't the Drivekey autoboot *ANY* kind of disc? Trucha or not?
     
  19. innercy

    Member innercy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    yea. if we have modchip, we can use autoboot disc to boot into wad manager. long time ago, someone already post wadmanager autoboot iso.. [​IMG]
     
  20. jchiesa

    Newcomer jchiesa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Chris,
    were you able to play PAL and NTSC games before your brick? have you tried to do a USB-loader setup? try that. that way you load your ISO directly from an external harddrive.
     

Share This Page