Backup loader channel via disk menu not working?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by catchit, Dec 16, 2008.

Dec 16, 2008
  1. catchit
    OP

    Newcomer catchit Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    When I try playing a burnt game from Backup Loader Channel (Gamma 0.3) by pressing B, letting it reboot and then load via regular disk menu, the game is detected and I see the pre-launch animations. But once I click on the disk menu to actually run the game, images on the screen turn black and white and constantly scroll vertically. The games I use are PAL, and this issue is similar to what you'd see if you were to load a game without forcing NTSC direct within the application. WiiGator3 (Wii_Gator.wad) and Backup Loader Channel both run the game perfectly when forcing NTSC in the options menu and running/loading the game from WITHIN these two application.

    Does anyone know what could be wrong when trying to run a game via regular disk menu?
     
  2. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    try applying the vidtvpatch and force ntsc....

    -kitt050383
     
  3. catchit
    OP

    Newcomer catchit Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    I'll give it a try. Could you also point me to some documentation on what each of those config options mean?
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Standard PAL video mode is 576i at 50Hz and NTSC video mode is 480i at 60Hz. That's why many NTSC tvs have lots of trouble with PAL video playback. The colorspace is different too, that's why it is black and white. PAL has a 2nd video mode: 480i at 60Hz, and that's why most PAL tvs only have problems with the colors from a NTSC signal.
     
  5. catchit
    OP

    Newcomer catchit Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    So, I should only be using NTSC backups on a NTSC console? I've found the selection for PAL back-ups are more readily available.
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    "the selection for PAL back-ups" you mean pirated .isos?

    It's possible to patch a game from one region to the other, just search for it.
     
  7. catchit
    OP

    Newcomer catchit Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes.

    No need to patch really, the force NTSC work majority of the time.
     
  8. catchit
    OP

    Newcomer catchit Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    I just tried with vidpatch ON and Force NTSC. Same issue. Any more suggestions?
     
  9. catchit
    OP

    Newcomer catchit Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    So playing around with things a bit more, I have a feeling that the config changes I set are not implemented upon the re-boot. Thus the current issue. Is there a way to make the loader always use config settings you've set?
     

Share This Page