Backup Loader 0.3 Problem(s)

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by GenocideSiren, Nov 4, 2008.

Nov 4, 2008
  1. GenocideSiren
    OP

    Newcomer GenocideSiren Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Yes yes, I have searched google, Gbatemp, everything, I can't find help to my problem. Yesterday I finally recieved my SD Reader, so I was happy to finally be able to put homebrew on my Wii, I have version 3.2U. But of course, I don't know most of the things about Wii Homebrew like I do with PSP homebrew, so it'll take me awhile to understand. So I -may- have missed something when trying to get this Backup Loader working.

    I've tried installing DVDx, uninstalling it, installing CIOS_Fix, uninstalling it, I've tried the cIOS 6 thing that comes with the loader, I've tried IOS5 Rev, nothing. All of my back ups won't work, BUT. It does load my ACTUAL games through the Backup Loader (not sure if that's a good thing or not) before it would just take me to a black screen and give me all these error codes, I'd have to manually shut it off, now it actually loads my real games just fine.

    I've tried Super Mario Galaxy Backup Loader Ready, it'll either say "DVD Identify Error" or http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=112872

    I also tried Wii Music, patched, AND unpatched, same thing.

    I downloaded Naruto Clash of a Ninja Revolution 2 as well, I've tried it patched. Not unpatched, but still, same error as above.

    I really need help. I may be missing something due to not understanding the homebrew scene for the Wii, but I've tried just about anything that I could understand. I wish there was a way I could just totally reformat my Wii, and try again from scratch, but everything seems too complicated for that, so I just have to make due.

    If anyone can read through this long message, and attempt to help me, I'd be so grateful. This has become a nightmare to me, I just don't know what to do anymore.

    Thanks.

    EDIT: Also, I figure maybe I could be burning it wrong, but I do as the guides have said, I use IMGBurn, 2x, on DVD-Rs. I use TDK DVD-Rs, so I don't understand, am I missing something?
     


  2. agn015

    Newcomer agn015 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    I was getting the same error. I tried scanning the discs I burned in DVDinfoPro and found out that they all had a quality rating of 0% and most of the time they all encountered an unrecoverable read error and couldn't continue. This either means that my media was bad or my burner is too old. I updated firmware of the drive and burned again (using IMGburn). still had quality ratings of 0%. Tomorrow I will try burning at work where they just bought new computers so hopefully this will fix my issues so I won't have to buy a new burner. If I were you I'd try running the quality test on DVDinfoPro and see how good the burns are. If the quality is low, chances are thats why the games aren't working and you'll need to buy a new dvdrw drive.

    Edit: also try burning at a faster speed. Some people have reported that burning at the speed the DVD-R is rated for yields more playable games (and a better quality rating). Let us know if you make any progress.
     
  3. GenocideSiren
    OP

    Newcomer GenocideSiren Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, thank you. Though, I doubt it's my burner since I actually JUST bought it during the summer for $40. I still burn PS2 games without error, but I will do the test right now to make sure.

    I'll also try burning at a faster speed to see, thanks.


    EDIT: Apparently the Quality rating is 83.21%.
     
  4. agn015

    Newcomer agn015 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    i was able to get a copy of GHIII DLC Edition to work by putting in the loader. Getting that error. Ejecting the disc. Put it back in the Wii and then try the loader again. This is all without exiting the loader.
     
  5. GenocideSiren
    OP

    Newcomer GenocideSiren Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I tried doing what you said, and it just continues to give me an error message, so I'm thinking I may have something installed wrong. I don't know. I'm really at a loss.
     
  6. agn015

    Newcomer agn015 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Have you gotten it working yet? I burned my games at work and they all have a quality rating in the high 90s and work flawlessly. I would try a different burner or type of media and see if that helps.
     
  7. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    Your using the old loader and you have to patch your games before playing them on that

    download the most recent files in my zip - remove everything else that you have installed like DVDx and the IOS if you can and start from scratch using the simple HOWTO html file

    first link in my signature
     
  8. I_Got_Wii'D

    Member I_Got_Wii'D GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I am not sure how exactly you go about burning your ISO files, but here is how I do it (and it has always worked for me):

    (little side note - You may want to first double check that the game ISO that you have is compatiable with one of the ISO loader Channels)

    Step One -
    Using a Backup Creator (Look for the GUI edition, You will need the "Common-Key.bin" file tho). Double Click on the "Backup Creator" icon. Using the "browse" window that will open, look for your game's "ISO" file.

    Once you select it click the "open" button.

    Step Two - Once it is all done, you will have yourself a new ISO file. This new file will be 3.99gig and will have "(Converted)" at the end of the file name.

    Step Three - Open the program you will use to burn the ISO file (either IMGburn or DVD decrypter).

    Step Four - Now browse for you're Converted ISO file and select it.

    Step Five - Setup the program to burn in the Book Type "DVD-Rom".

    Step Six - Burn the Converted ISO file to you're blank DVD. When IMGburn first gets ready to start the burn process, if you look toward the bottom of the lower window. It will say Book Type: "Selected Book Type" (Here it will tell you what booktype you have selected the burner to use).

    Step Seven - When it is done burning (again, so long as the correct booktype has been selected), You will have a working backup game disc.

    Now so long as you have you're backup loader installed on you're Nintendo Wii, Just go to the Channel and load the game with the correct settings.

    Any game from the US region will play with the default settings

    Any game from the PAL region You will have to Force NTSC from the Config Menu of the backup loader you are using.

    This should do it for ya buddy. Enjoy.
     
  9. GenocideSiren
    OP

    Newcomer GenocideSiren Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, Djtaz I did what you said, but I totally reformatted my Wii, and did everything exactly as the guide said, and now I just get "DVD Identify Error" so I figure I'm burning them wrong, now, which brings me to I_Got_Wii'D.


    I never set the booking type (or for that matter used the backup creator) which could be it, so I'm testing with Wii Music again, I have it converted and all ready, but now in ImgBurn, I went to Change Book Type, but I don't see my Drive manufacturer, it's a SONY DVD RW DRU-180A. But nothing else is said. So what do I do now?

    EDIT: Apparently on another forum while searching google, someone said "I recenty picked up a Sony DVD/RW model DRU-180A (re-branded Lite-on drive)" so I'll just try using Lite-on then.
     
  10. I_Got_Wii'D

    Member I_Got_Wii'D GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    That will work then (I assume). I have a "NEC" brand Burner, and the "NEC" list won't work for me, so I just used the Lite as well. Set it to the "DVD-ROM" booktype and it worked just fine for me.

    So now everything I have burnt with IMGburn has worked just fine.

    Good luck sir.
     
  11. junk_man32

    Banned junk_man32 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    burn really slow either from 2x to 6x
     
  12. GenocideSiren
    OP

    Newcomer GenocideSiren Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Well. I set it for Drive (for DVD+R Media) then book type to DVD-ROM. But I guess it didn't work.

    Physical Format Information (Last Recorded):
    Book Type: DVD-R
    Part Version: 5
    Disc Size: 120mm
    Maximum Read Rate: Not Specified
    Number of Layers: 1
    Track Path: Parallel Track Path (PTP)
    Linear Density: 0.267 um/bit
    Track Density: 0.74 um/track
    First Physical Sector of Data Area: 196,608
    Last Physical Sector of Data Area: 2,289,542
    Last Physical Sector in Layer 0: 0

    EDIT: Also, this happens when I try to switch "Current Media (For DVD+RW Media)
    http://img376.imageshack.us/my.php?image=1...47011628dd3.png
    http://img525.imageshack.us/my.php?image=1...47021628vn8.png

    So that's probably what's causing it.

    Also, everything else under the Lite-on tab, I switched to DVD-ROM, but the Current Media just won't switch.
     
  13. I_Got_Wii'D

    Member I_Got_Wii'D GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Ok what I would normally do is: (Keep in mind I normally use DVD+R)

    Step 1) Open IMGburn

    Step 2) Add ISO File

    Step 3) Click on the Book (To Change Booktype)

    Step 4) Click on the "LG" Tab (This is what should be displayed):

    Change for: "Drive (For DVD+R Media)"
    Current Setting: DVD-Rom

    If that is what is shown then click "Ok", If it is not, then Adjust the settings so that is what is shown

    Step 5) Click on the button to start the burn process

    Step 6) On the "IMGburn log" Check for the words "Booktype: ???" (The ??? will be the booktype you have selected, in this case it should read "Booktype: DVD-Rom").

    If it says "Booktype: DVD-Rom" Then your disc will burn correctly.

    Give this a shot and let me know what happens.
     
  14. GenocideSiren
    OP

    Newcomer GenocideSiren Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I can't use the LG tab, since every time I try to select one in there, it just says
    Current Settings: "Unknown (FAILED!)"
    Reason: "Invalid Command Operation Code"

    But this is just getting frustrating, I'm starting to wonder if I'll be able to burn with booktype DVD-ROM. Since I guess that's the required booktype for DVD-Rs, for burned Wii games.
     
  15. agn015

    Newcomer agn015 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    if your burning onto a DVD-R you don't need to change the book type. I actually don't think it's possible to change the book type on a DVD-R
     
  16. GenocideSiren
    OP

    Newcomer GenocideSiren Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, well, thanks for that, agn0. But then, why do I -STILL- get DVD Identify Errors? I'm so frustrated, if you can't already tell hahah. It really does suck. I'm too confused.

    Well, I think it's a mixture of "No DVD" and "DVD Identify Error" since the words overlap each other, so I can't read it, that's normal, right?
     
  17. spin1337

    Newcomer spin1337 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I get the same thing, i did not know what it said till you posted this. Kinda hard 2read.
     
  18. GenocideSiren
    OP

    Newcomer GenocideSiren Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Should I always use RegionFrii, or do I not need to use that now? I mean, after all I'm trying Wii Music, which is NTSC.
     
  19. I_Got_Wii'D

    Member I_Got_Wii'D GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe you should try using a ISO that has already been confirmed to work (As I don't see Wii Music on the list yet). So give something a shot that you know works for sure (just an idea).

    anyway I really hope you can get you're backup loader up and working.
     
  20. GenocideSiren
    OP

    Newcomer GenocideSiren Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php/Backup_Launcher
    Wii Music [NTSC-U] Yes 0.1 & 0.3 0.1 Works perfectly with Cios_fix. 0.3 works perfectly out of the box

    But, thanks for your help anyways. Can you suggest an ISO that works for you? Just so I can go off on that. If not, I'll just look for myself, but I'd rather you suggest one since it works for you.
     

Share This Page