AverTV USB HD DVR

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by ShawnTRods, Jun 19, 2012.

Jun 19, 2012

AverTV USB HD DVR by ShawnTRods at 11:13 PM (575 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. ShawnTRods
    OP

    Member ShawnTRods GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AverMedia Dark Crystal External HD has input/output for component. There is a output for HDMI but whats the use for that? I could not find any clear answers... my tv has HDMI only... can i plug that in from xbox to this and hdmi out to tv? just making sure. please only confirm if you have tried this.


    My TV has only HDMI ports. I dont wanna spend another £50 pounds to get a HDMI to Component converter.


    Or is there any alternative HD PVR's that goes around £120 and supports HDMI instead of component?
     
  2. MakiManPR

    Banned MakiManPR Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Yeah the HDMI is output only. You connect you Xbox through Component cables to the AverTV and the HDMI cable from the AverTV to your TV.
     
  3. ShawnTRods
    OP

    Member ShawnTRods GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have tested this out? I have been getting a lot of mixed responses..

    What about the PS3? Same?
     
  4. MakiManPR

    Banned MakiManPR Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Well I had and Hauppauge HD PVR. But that's what I have read on the internet.
     
  5. ShawnTRods
    OP

    Member ShawnTRods GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hauppauge doesnt have any HDMI output, does it o.o?

    Well if not AverMedia.. is there any other PVR's with HDMI support?

    Elgato is a bit too much for my budget.
     
  6. MakiManPR

    Banned MakiManPR Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Hauppauge don't have HDMI ports.

    From this link

    "Apparently the HDMi on the Avermedia is for output only. From what I read it will only play back the files that it captured. I'm assuming this means any files that are in the right container but it could be more restrictive than that. In any case both these devices use the component analog hole to capture."

    "The HDMI port on the Avermedia HD USB is for video output. According to the documentation, it's supposed to be connected to a TV or LCD monitor. From what I gather the Arcsoft software is able to play back recorded content, send it to the Avermedia HD USB, and from there it's supposed to go through the HDMI connection to the TV or monitor."

    So looks like is just to play recorded files on your TV via HDMI

    I read somewhere that HDMI signals cannot be recorded cuz they're protected or something like that.

    It will work the same with the PS3
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. ShawnTRods
    OP

    Member ShawnTRods GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Erhmm already recorded files.. no point.

    I guess I will have to wait till next payday to get the extra cash to buy Elgato instead lol.
    cheers
     

Share This Page