ATI HyperMemory?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Bently, Nov 28, 2010.

Nov 28, 2010

ATI HyperMemory? by Bently at 7:55 AM (708 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. Bently
    OP

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey Tempers! I recently found out about the technology to convert RAM into VRAM; HyperMemory (For ATI, NVidia is under another name). Anyways, last month I had recieved my HP Pavilion G42-243CL Laptop and I wanted to know if I could use HyperMemory.

    I heard the settings for Hypermemory is located in the BIOS, but my laptop's BIOS doesn't have a setting for VRAM (or any others in particular).
    The BIOS is called Phoenix or something similar to that name. If anyone could help me out, i'd be grateful [​IMG].
     
  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To me, this sounds exactly like the "shared memory" of IGPs. I don't get what's so special about it.

    Also, the BIOS manufacturer are called Phoenix Technologies. The BIOS won't have any special name, just a version number. Here's the wiki. I remember that they were the ones that made the BIOS for my earlier computers (PentiumII and earlier).
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's the same, there's nothing special.

    People still think that RAM is a measurement of speed, though.
     
  4. Bently
    OP

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I found out that my BIOS is actually InsydeH2O, thanks for your repleis though.
     

Share This Page