AT&T Experimenting with Bandwith Cap!

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Jran Sakarra, Nov 6, 2008.

Nov 6, 2008
  1. Jran Sakarra
    OP

    Member Jran Sakarra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kanto
    Country:
    United States
    SOURCE:http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2333966,00.asp

    A month after Comcast imposed a bandwidth cap on its residential customers, AT&T announced this week that it is experimenting with a similar system that would limit usage to 150 Gbytes per month.

    As of November 1, new AT&T customers in Reno, Nevada will be allowed to use between 20GB and 150GB of bandwidth per month depending on their speed tier.

    The test is intended "to evaluate a usage-based model that could potentially help address today's trend of explosive bandwidth usage, [and] may be extended to one other market by the end of the year," according to an AT&T statement.

    Existing high-speed Internet customers in Reno who use more than 150GB of data per month will automatically be enrolled in the bandwidth trial by year's end, AT&T said.

    If trial participants exceed usage limits, they will be notified in writing and will receive a one-month grace period for their first infraction. If they do it again, however, customers will be charged $1 for every GB over their usage amount. AT&T will notify customers 60 days before overage charges appear on their bill.

    How do you tell how much bandwidth you're using? AT&T said it will provide its customers with a "bandwidth measuring tool" to determine their usage. The company will also notify customers when they reach 80 percent of their usage amount.

    Service will not be terminated for overuse, according to AT&T.

    "A small group of customers are using the majority of bandwidth on our network," according to AT&T. "In fact, almost 50 percent of total bandwidth is used by just five percent of customers – customers, for example, who are uploading and downloading the equivalent of more than 40,000 YouTube videos or 40 million e-mails a month. This kind of heavy usage has an impact on all of our customers."

    Comcast announced in August that all its residential customers will be subject to a 250GB per month data limit starting October 1. Comcast came under fire last year for cutting off service to customers who consumed a large amount of bandwidth but refusing to provide those customers with information on how much bandwidth they were able to use.

    The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) also handed down an enforcement action against Comcast in August for what the commission considered to be unreasonable network management.

    In April, file-sharing service Vuze also accused AT&T of throttling traffic on its network; a charge AT&T denied.

    AT&T has notified the FCC of its bandwidth cap plans, according to filings.
     
  2. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    I like how Comcast says we can't go over 250 GBs a month, but gives us no way of monitoring our bandwidth. They say it's up to us to do that. I mean, my $100 a year internet at college has faster speeds, 300 GBs a month, and an hourly updated usage graph we can monitor.
     
  3. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,179
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    im glad I have no cap on my internet
     
  4. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    heh, it's still better than Rogers...

    Then again, what isn't better than Rogers?
     
  5. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    Someone should hack the ISPs for that type of shit. Or they should set your speed so you can't exceed.
     
  6. Sticks

    Member Sticks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    Australia
    ISPs have been doing that here for as long as I can remember. One of the worst -> Telstra Bigpond $129.95/month 60GB 30Mbps down/1Mbps up 12 or 24 month contract. One of the 'better' ones, TPG $79.99/month 200GB/month 60GB peak/140GB off peak. You guys still have it good. [​IMG]

    Another way of saying...TORRENTS AND FILESHARING.
     
  7. CCNaru

    Member CCNaru Warn-free Since 2005

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    USA USA USA USA USA USA USA US
    Country:
    United States
    Aussies have it bad but they're on an island, they'd have to use lots of bandwidth to communicate overseas to anywhere.

    also i have comcast at home, roflmao... now it's capped it's time to switch i guess

    hm, phone company in my town switched to AT&T... keeping comcast then since it has like 100gb more :/

    urge to move back to Korea rising
     
  8. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    I think I only have 60GB [​IMG] .
     
  9. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Wow, be happy you at least got great internet!
    Belgian internet is like this all the time, and it will be for at least another 3 years! I can download only 12GB per month (!) and the max I can download at is 500kb/s.
     
  10. mkoo

    Member mkoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Turkey
    In Turkey there are capped and totally uncapped plans. I'm payying 50 TRL (32 $) for it.
    The down side is it's only 1 mbit! With horrible ping. Best you can get is 4mbit for 64 $
    So I can't ever download more than 40gb/mo with 90mb/s !!
     
  11. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it's the same in the UK i pay £25 a month and i cannot download in peak hours (4am-9pm), if i do i will get my internet connection reduced by 90% and they advertise their connection as "unlimited" too which annoys me.
     
  12. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll add to the moaning here and say while Virgin Media have great speeds during off-peak, during peak-time speeds are horrible. Plus, internet seems to get capped after about 30-50GB at an estimate.

    It's even more stupid that they don't tell customers what limit they have. They just cap willy nilly if they think you're downloading too much [​IMG].
     
  13. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,101
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Leave virgin then [​IMG]. Go to BE or o2 or skymax. Be is totally unlimited for now , no cap , no throttling £18 a month , up to 24mb. Not gonna get that unless your right on top of the exchange , I only get 8mb [​IMG] , but rather 8mb that is unlimited , than 20mb that gets throttled back soon as you attempt to use. I've pulled 300GB+ at times and they don't even blink.
     
  14. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    I heard about it a few days ago. Poor Reno people. Well as of now I have no caps on 16/2 connection and I whore that BW out every month, so being capped would be a huge hit on me and I would find another internet company as well as get every I know to switch and most of them will listen to me :-)


    • AT&T Basic (DSL only) Up-to 768 Kbps 20 GB per month
    • AT&T Express Up-to 1.5 Mbps 40 GB per month
    • AT&T Pro Up-to 3.0 Mbps 60 GB per month
    • AT&T Elite Up-to 6.0 Mbps 80 GB per month
    • AT&T Max (U-verse only) Up-to 10.0 Mbps 150 GB per month
    Those are the Cap's per download speed. I would blow through that in a very short time.
     
  15. Jran Sakarra
    OP

    Member Jran Sakarra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kanto
    Country:
    United States
    Right now they are starting charging when you go over a bandwith limit.
    ......
    Dang we are just getting AT&T too.....
    Wonder how my grandpa feels about cable.....
    I download & upload at least 5 gigs a day already....
    Plus what is really gonna hurt is online gaming.
    No more Halo 3/ COD4 parties with 3-4 360 online....
     
  16. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    I escaped from my 30GB cap with Bell here by switching to the top rated ISP for support in North America (Canada ISP tho, TekSavvy) and now I have a 400GB per 2 months, which is really good for me, plus awesome support and a better speed for about 20$ less than with Bell. I usually do about 40-60GB per month now [​IMG]
     
  17. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds good, I'll get my Dad to switch at the next opportunity. And yeah, I was angry when I found out he signed for like a year deal with Virgin. First 2 weeks was hell, it was back to dial-up speeds for some unknown reason.
    And of course, Virgin advertise as unlimited, so it took us a good few months to twig they were capping our speed because we downloaded too much.
     
  18. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    I have ATT DSL, and hearing about Comcraptastic's cap a few months ago, I found and installed NetLimiter2 (which is free). Now, I use Netflix, and watch a bunch of stuff on Hulu/elsewhere in HD, it's scary how much bandwidth that I use.
     

Share This Page