.App Files

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Mrkinator, Jan 17, 2009.

Jan 17, 2009

.App Files by Mrkinator at 6:26 PM (958 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Mrkinator
    OP

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm starting up on RB2 DLC Custom Songs. So I used Fs_Browser to get the .app files. Once I'm done editing the files, I would just repack the .app files. Now, if I got this from a Wad, I would just repack the wad with these files. But since I didn't, how am I suppose to inject them back into the wii?
     
  2. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    you need a wadpacker.exe, there are 3 you can find here at GBATemp:

    Blaze
    Segher
    Kike

    for all of them you need:
    title.tmd that is in the same folder as all the .app files
    .app files, all the
    .tik file, the
     
  3. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    None of the existing wad packers will work with DLC. I don't think DLC can be packed into wads properly (unless you have every DLC file, in which case you'd end up with a useless >1GB wad).
     
  4. Mrkinator
    OP

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    Really? Perfect, thanks ether!

    Edit: You sure tueidj? I'll try it anyways, but if It doesn't work, I guess customs are a no go [​IMG]
     
  5. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    I'm pretty sure, with DLC titles there are "optional" files (whether they are present depends on if they've been downloaded). They're type 0x4001 in the TMD. Wad packers always try and pack all the type 0x4001 files and fail when they can't find any. The only way it would probably work is if you hacked the TMD file.
     
  6. Mrkinator
    OP

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    Damn [​IMG]. Seems like when I figure something out w/ RB2, another problem arises [​IMG]
     
  7. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    I kind of remember had succes packing the GHWT DLC into a .wad file, but I delete it, so I really not sure if I succed or not, and since I formating my Wii (stupidly) now I don't have any file to pack [​IMG] but tueidj is right about the 0x4001, the installed channels get packed in 0x8001, so the people in charge of creating the wadpackers may have the solutions to this...!! [​IMG]
     
  8. Mrkinator
    OP

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    So I need to get into contact w/ one of the wad packer authors and see if they could release an altered version for DLC?

    Edit: Wait a minute...I remember seeing somewhere that MegaMan DLC was released in WAD form. I wonder how they did it [​IMG]
     

Share This Page