Anyone use f.lux?

Discussion in 'iPhone, iPod & iPad' started by 3bbb7, Oct 13, 2012.

Oct 13, 2012

Anyone use f.lux? by 3bbb7 at 3:32 AM (1,667 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    I was wondering how bad the battery drainage is on iPod touch 4g with f.lux.

    http://stereopsis.com/flux/ios.html

    Restored my iPod and only have 4-5 things from Cydia installed... dont want to drain my battery too bad
     
  2. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,637
    Country:
    United States
    I've never heard of it. What does it do?
     
  3. redfalcon

    Member redfalcon GBATemp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Germany
    It changes the color temperature depending on time of the day (warmer at night, colder at day). Shouldn't impact battery life at all, since it doesn't use any (or very minor) computing power.
     
  4. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I use it all the time on all of my PC's, very very handy and it REALLY helps a lot for your eyes.
    I don't use it on any of my mobile devices though.
     
  5. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    http://stereopsis.com/flux/

    I use it on my computer.
    i read more into it and it says it only uses location services to determine the time and stuff, so its minor battery impact. I'll get it
     
  6. zygie

    Member zygie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Philippines
    I haven't noticed any large battery impact and I've had it for as long as I can remember. Really neat.
     
  7. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Does it work when your not using wifi? it uses location services and if your away from home and have no wifi it can't detect location?
     
  8. Izen

    Member Izen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I know, f.lux doesn't connect to the internet or use your location for anything. It just checks the time every so often and applies the appropriate tint. So as logn as your clock has the right time, you're fine.
     
  9. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I use it. But now I can't use a computer that doesn't have it installed without my eyes feeling like they're on fire.
     
  10. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,637
    Country:
    United States
    Its ok. I found it kinda annoying honestly.
     

Share This Page