Anyone play All Points Bulletin?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by TehSkull, May 24, 2011.

May 24, 2011
  1. TehSkull
    OP

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    The game just went into open beta today, so I wondered if any tempers were playing, preferably US-East players.

    IGN: TehSkull
     
  2. SamAsh07

    Member SamAsh07 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,693
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    OB started? Great man thanks for letting me know! I was planning on trying out the game but wanted to wait for OB and lost track and actually forgot about this game. Heh.
     
  3. overslept

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for reminding me. Just installed it, haven't played it yet. If I like it I'll post my name so we can play together.

    One thing's for sure, I like that GamersFirst Live! download manager a lot. Simple, fast, and effective. I downloaded the whole game in like 2 hours at 600kb/s.
     
  4. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,652
    Country:
    Canada
    I played back in the European closed beta (NA CB was a bitch to get into) before it went F2P.

    It's really fun, but without multiple hitboxes...it loses a lot of appeal. No headshots takes a LOT of skill out of combat.
     
  5. TehSkull
    OP

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    I agree. I bought a sniper rifle that always kills in 2 shots, head or body. If headshots worked, I bet I'd be a lot better in battles.
     
  6. Bently

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I just found out about the Open Beta 2 days ago. Played it and it lags a lot. Is anyone else getting lag? (latency wise)
     
  7. TehSkull
    OP

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Nope. The only lag I get is fps. I average about 20fps, but that's because my processor is junk.

    Have you tried the other server? There's 2 EU servers and 2 US servers(one east, one west).
     
  8. Bently

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Odd, I play NA East (corresponding to my location). Would changing it help me?
    And the lag I experience is that my charater would many times teleport or jump when I'm moving, so it's certainly not a FPS lag.
     
  9. TehSkull
    OP

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    1. You can't change your character's server. You can have characters on different servers though.
    2. Is this lag you're experiencing only in vehicles?
     
  10. Bently

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    1. Oh, could I create more than 1 char for each account?
    2. No, when I walk around it would most of the time teleport my character from one end to the other. It's a bit hard to explain in words, you have to see it to understand what I'm saying.
     
  11. TehSkull
    OP

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    1. Yeah you can have more than one char. I currently have an Enforcer and a Criminal both on US-East.
    2. Weird. If it was in vehicles I could have explained that, since vehicles are driven server-sided, not client sided so that people don't get killed by laggy drivers who came outta nowhere.

    Lemme see if I can find the ping test URLs that GamersFirst put in one of their blogs.
    US West (Los Angeles): 173.195.32.254
    US East (Washington DC): 173.195.39.254
    Europe (Frankfurt): 173.195.41.254

    Ping those. See which one gets you the lowest.
     
  12. Bently

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada

    Geographically, NA east is the best choice for latency, yet the game still seems like there is bad latency between my game client and server.
     
  13. TehSkull
    OP

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    When you get in game, say /fps
    That should give you your FPS, and server Latency. Hope that helps some kinda way.
     
  14. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i tried

    *le download de jeux*
    *le configuration*
    *le dialogue "ur pc cent run game,noob gtfo"*
    *le rage*
    *le deinstallation de Gamersfirst Live*

    its not like i want this pay-for-fair crap anyway
     
  15. TehSkull
    OP

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
  16. gifi4

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    So just checked the minimum specs and my comp can't handle it for shit, so it'll have to wait till I build my comp but I will have to try this soon!
     
  17. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    much like battlefield: heroes

    if you want to win, you gotta pay at least 100 dollars for 'good' weapons
     
  18. TehSkull
    OP

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, the game is not like that. Good guns are available for purchase with real money, but equally good ones are available to buy with in-game cash from NPCs.
     
  19. damedus

    Member damedus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    United States
    lol i have a digital collectors to this game when it first came out with those 50 free hours + 120 bucks worth of points. They sent me a letter giving me my account back with my points and some bonuses but I haven't even bothered to d/l again. IN the old server you could buy all guns just by questing with the factions or hand mod em and sell em for in game coin/cash shop points did they change this? or can you still get cash shop points via the action house?
     
  20. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,652
    Country:
    Canada
    People can buy things to compensate for a lack of skill. If you're that much better then your opponent, you'll still win.
    I can play BF heroes with 0 paid items, and still pull a 25:1 K/D ratio against rich kiddies.
    APB is like that. Honestly F2P games annoy me with the stupid cash shop offering anything but convenience and beautification items. All games going F2P is a bad thing if that's the road they're all gonna take.
     

Share This Page