Any suggestion to decrease lag ?

Discussion in 'Wii - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by gamemaster2010, Oct 6, 2010.

Oct 6, 2010
  1. gamemaster2010
    OP

    Newcomer gamemaster2010 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Brazil
    So has been a while that i am trying to solve this problem, my wii suffers from terrible lag, at great part of the matches i participate in Call of Duty.
    I already tried to forward some ports in my router, don't know if i am doing it correctly, but so far little difference, the thing that did the biggest difference was buying a lan adapter for the wii.
    So anyone has any idea of something that can help me ?
     
  2. CarbonX13

    Member CarbonX13 GBAtemp 台灣人

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Country:
    Taiwan
    If you did all that but still experience lag, the only thing you can really do that I can come up with is upgrade your Internet my friend.
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Run a speed test and show the results.
     
  4. gamemaster2010
    OP

    Newcomer gamemaster2010 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Brazil
    Sorry for the late reply i could acess the internet just now, yeah i am the only thing i can do is upgrade my internet.
    And here is the speedtest:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Joktan

    Member Joktan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    In a big mansion...in Rancoon
    Country:
    United States
    I have slower internet then that and i never lag with any of my games.I have a 360 hooked up and no lag and neither does my wii when i play the conduit...is someone else using the internet when you play?
     
  6. gamemaster2010
    OP

    Newcomer gamemaster2010 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Brazil
    no, only me, maybe the issue is the distance between the host and me.
     
  7. CarbonX13

    Member CarbonX13 GBAtemp 台灣人

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Yeah, your Internet isn't that bad... Try moving the router closer?
     
  8. 10_0ARMY

    Member 10_0ARMY THE *Original* 1 Man Army

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Wouldn't you like to know
    Country:
    United States
    I play through the ancient ass Wi-Fi usb, 3g card combo and lag isn't too much of an issue for me. Maybe u just have a terrible service provider. [​IMG]
     
  9. gamemaster2010
    OP

    Newcomer gamemaster2010 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Brazil
    yeah, i think i have two problems: the internet provider and the distance, because most of times when i play with a brazilian host, i get 3 and sometimes 2 bars, and when i play with a host of other country i get 1 and sometimes 2 bars.
    Thanks for the replies gonna see if i can get a better provider. [​IMG]
     
  10. WhiteX

    Member WhiteX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    Brazil
    Brazilian here too, state your ISP and your router, please
     
  11. gamemaster2010
    OP

    Newcomer gamemaster2010 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Brazil
    sorry for taking so long to answer.
    Here it is my router is D-link DI-524 and my ISP is videomar rede nordeste S/A more known as net.
     
  12. luminalace

    Member luminalace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    462
    Country:
    Australia
    Call of Duty on Wii is one of the games where lag can make a huge difference. You hopefully are already using the region option so the game only looks for Brazilian hosts. Even 2 bars makes cod wii that much harder.
     
  13. gamemaster2010
    OP

    Newcomer gamemaster2010 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Brazil
    I try to use the region option, but there is never others players on, and from my friends only one has a wii and he is hardly online.
     

Share This Page