Any pitfalls for "online gaming"

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by skuggi, Jan 4, 2011.

Jan 4, 2011
  1. skuggi
    OP

    Newcomer skuggi Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guy's long time lurker here. Never really had a question that google searching the forum couldn't answer. But I just ordered a DSTwo as I just got a DSi XL, I've previously used an R4 SDHC, which was fine for my needs as the carts hadn't been that advanced I would just use it as a storage bin for all the games I owned, I've downloaded a few games that I just couldn't find and just now found out about translations [​IMG]

    But when searching for a new card this DSTwo has really peaked my interest especially having an SDK (If I ever get time to play with it).

    Anyways, I was just wondering if this works well when gaming online, I never actually tried it with my old R4 but now my little cousins all have DS's and wan't to do like mario kart over wifi, trade pokemon and battle etc. Does this work / work well with the DSTwo? or would I really just need to bring that original cart with me? I travel a good bit and learned with my old GBA that carts just don't travel well, lost, stolen, broken... Also speaking of that on board other emulators on the cart have me amazed, now maybe I can get to beating some of the old games I never finished [​IMG]

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    Wifi has never been an issue to use with the games as long as the flashcart runs the game to begin with.
    But yea, you'll be able to use the games' wifi just fine with DSTWO.
     
  3. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    There is one, but it is not flash cart specific. If the "Basic Rate" in your router is set to All instead of Default then only the DSi browser will work (in fact, the connection test will say it can't connect to the access point even though the browser can connect just fine).
     
  4. skuggi
    OP

    Newcomer skuggi Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, thank's for the replies. Well my router at home won't be an issue. I wonder what the airports wifi's are usually setup as lol.
     

Share This Page