Hacking Any ideas on installing CIAs using ARM9 + ARM11 exploits?

mathieulh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
378
Trophies
0
Website
keybase.io
XP
896
Country
France
The system CIAs come to mind. Surely they are meant to be installed on every 3ds without activation, right?

Oh! I forgot about these. Keep in mind though that a version check is enforced upon installation (if the version is lower than the current installed version, the content will not install) and has to be patched.
(that's if you had any hope of downgrading that is)
 
  • Like
Reactions: cearp

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,609
Trophies
1
XP
7,749
Country
Tuvalu
Hum... I would guess so, assuming you do have a .cia file signed for retail systems that doesn't need any specific tmd to run (does that even exist ?)

bundled apps/games work on any 3ds without 'patches' :) system ones too, sure
specific tmd to run? well, you need a tmd to build the cia/the cia contains a tmd... right?

Keep in mind though that a version check is enforced upon installation

do you know what the version is checked again? i assume the tmd for the title, as the ticket doesn't always have the correct version.
 

sanni

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2003
Messages
142
Trophies
0
XP
1,133
Country
Germany
About that DS profile exploit on 6.x, it sounds like I maybe should not update my 6.2.0 2DS?
Because I would prefer launching homebrew via profile exploit instead of the browser exploit or ninjahax.
 

mathieulh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
378
Trophies
0
Website
keybase.io
XP
896
Country
France
bundled apps/games work on any 3ds without 'patches' :) system ones too, sure
specific tmd to run? well, you need a tmd to build the cia/the cia contains a tmd... right?



do you know what the version is checked again? i assume the tmd for the title, as the ticket doesn't always have the correct version.


Yes, the version is checked against the one from the tmd (the .cia contains the tmd as you just mentioned)
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,609
Trophies
1
XP
7,749
Country
Tuvalu
Yes, the version is checked against the one from the tmd (the .cia contains the tmd as you just mentioned)

does an app still work if we delete the tmd? (easy to test) - or, what if we delete the tmd/delete and copy a low version tmd back, then we can update to whatever version of the app we want right?
i could do this easy with a launcher.dat, although i can't think of many reason it could be useful.
 

mathieulh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
378
Trophies
0
Website
keybase.io
XP
896
Country
France
does an app still work if we delete the tmd? (easy to test) - or, what if we delete the tmd/delete and copy a low version tmd back, then we can update to whatever version of the app we want right?
i could do this easy with a launcher.dat, although i can't think of many reason it could be useful.

I don't think it would, but to be honest I've never tested this scenario so I can't tell for sure.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: From his auntie's wife side