Hacking Any help for those that can't ftp?

V0ltr0n

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
484
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
507
Country
United States
I don't know if anyone else has this issue, but I got henkaku installed just fine. My modem/router is unable to ftp for some reason. I've tried all types of configuration to no avail. At this point, I am modded but have yet to be able to install any homebrew. Is there any way to transfer the homebrew to the vita directly from the computer or is ftp a must for transferring files? Any help would be much appreciated.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sonic Angel Knight

satan89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2014
Messages
424
Trophies
0
Location
Limbo
XP
795
Country
India
You can rename extension of file from vpk to mp4 and transfer it as a video via QCMA, then rename fike from mp4 to vpk to install. It's faster than ftp and good for transferring bigger files.
But try and fix ftp, it's quite necessary for transferring smaller files. Try hosting a hotspot from your smartphone and using ftp with that. Hotspot ftp works with TurboClient on Android afaik
 

Sonic Angel Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
14,385
Trophies
1
Location
New York
XP
12,706
Country
United States
Filezilla seem to be the only way with ftp. Though i tried the windows explorer and not work. It just hangs at loading pages. I even tried with android Esfile explorer, same response. I really wish that it worked or even USB connections was possible. Is weird how my 3DS content manager can work with Ftp just fine but not my vita.
 

Tony_93

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
2,457
Trophies
1
Location
California
XP
2,422
Country
United States
Filezilla seem to be the only way with ftp. Though i tried the windows explorer and not work. It just hangs at loading pages. I even tried with android Esfile explorer, same response. I really wish that it worked or even USB connections was possible. Is weird how my 3DS content manager can work with Ftp just fine but not my vita.

Why don't you try what I mentioned above? That is a really fast way to transfer stuff via USB...
 

satan89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2014
Messages
424
Trophies
0
Location
Limbo
XP
795
Country
India
Why don't you try what I mentioned above? That is a really fast way to transfer stuff via USB...
I've tried this with no success. It shows copying the entire file in the savedata, but when I check it later with vitashell, only the savedata files are transferred, the vpks aren't in the folder. There is no unaccounted storage space used up, so the file isn't hidden somewhere. It just disappears.
Maybe something should be changed under QCMA settings?
@OP sorry for hijacking.
 

Tony_93

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
2,457
Trophies
1
Location
California
XP
2,422
Country
United States
I've tried this with no success. It shows copying the entire file in the savedata, but when I check it later with vitashell, only the savedata files are transferred, the vpks aren't in the folder. There is no unaccounted storage space used up, so the file isn't hidden somewhere. It just disappears.
Maybe something should be changed under QCMA settings?
@OP sorry for hijacking.

Did you refresh the database after you put the vpk into the folder?
 

V0ltr0n

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
484
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
507
Country
United States
Thanks for all the help guys. I will be doing the renaming trick to get my stuff on the vita. Apparently my modem is one of the newer high security nat modems and is a huge pain in the ass. Ive fiddled with it so much, im just done. So for instance i install an emulator using the rename trick, do i transfer the games for the emulator in the same manner by renaming? Once again, thanks everyone for the quick and helpful replies.
 
D

Deleted-355425

Guest
Thanks for all the help guys. I will be doing the renaming trick to get my stuff on the vita. Apparently my modem is one of the newer high security nat modems and is a huge pain in the ass. Ive fiddled with it so much, im just done. So for instance i install an emulator using the rename trick, do i transfer the games for the emulator in the same manner by renaming? Once again, thanks everyone for the quick and helpful replies.


Install some cfw on your router :)
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    *Throws a Pokeball at Jayro*
    +1
  • YukiHomura @ YukiHomura:
    i need that shit
    +1
  • Cilo @ Cilo:
    so here's my plan, make a homebrew horror game for the ds
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Will it be a evil santa? Or a evil thanksgiving pilgrim?
  • YukiHomura @ YukiHomura:
    i hope the gta 6 engine wont be ass to work with it.....or else i wont return to the modding scene lmao.
  • a_username_that_is_cool @ a_username_that_is_cool:
    i hope the gta 6 engine wont be
  • a_username_that_is_cool @ a_username_that_is_cool:
    it just doesnt
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Inb4 gta 6 leaks a week early after switch players wait 4 years for a port
  • Xdqwerty65 @ Xdqwerty65:
    at least they will get a port
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    GTA6 on Switch? It'd have to be the Switch 3 or 4
  • Xdqwerty65 @ Xdqwerty65:
    or 64
  • Veho @ Veho:
    GTA: Chinatown Wars Switch.
  • Xdqwerty65 @ Xdqwerty65:
    we'll hope its not the mobile version ported to the switch
  • a_username_that_is_cool @ a_username_that_is_cool:
    Bet GTA switch will be a Great Tfriend Aship game
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Why is there such an uptick in people pulling out they 3DS's? Just had a friend call me wanting to mod a 3DSxl for his kid, and I have notice alot more threads about 3DS.
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's retro now lol
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I guess. Will be the 3rd one I mod this week, Not that its hard at all, or why they didnt do themself. Oh well, for friends and family.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Glad I keep "legal" backups of all the games.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yup, I am...:wtf:
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    hey
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I keep trying to beat this last dlc set of tracks on 200cc mariokart8, and keep getting 2nd and 3rd, pissing me off
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It's retro and still $200
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Has a great collection of games also, not to mention all the homebrew
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: Has a great collection of games also, not to mention all the homebrew