Android devices compatibility list for Homepass

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by Petoboy, May 4, 2015.

May 4, 2015
  1. Petoboy
    OP

    Newcomer Petoboy Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    France
    Hi all !
    I decided to create that spreadsheet to list all Android devices and their software setups to use Homepass.
    I need you to fill it, so please share your experience ^_^
     
    Xabring and TidusWulf like this.
  2. TidusWulf

    Member TidusWulf Real Aloha

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    585
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you.
     
  3. astropancakes

    Newcomer astropancakes Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I've never been able to get homepass running on my Nexus 4 running CyanogenMod.
     
  4. Atross

    Newcomer Atross Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    France

    Like you I can't do it with my S6 Edge stock rom.
    Idk why, i get some error text when i've tried.
     
  5. Spaqin

    Member Spaqin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Poland
    Maybe make a sheet of non-working devices too, so people won't be disappointed when they try that themselves?
     
  6. Petoboy
    OP

    Newcomer Petoboy Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    France
    That's a good idea indeed, added ! Give me all the details you can (wether it worked or not) by replying here, via email or comment on the sheet.
     
  7. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,135
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty much any stock device won't support it as it requires root.
     
  8. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,458
    The 3DSX Loader app doesn't require root and it works on my device, back when it was on stock rooted (SuperSU never popped up to ask for permissions). However, I've upgraded to a ROM and haven't had a chance to test yet, although other ROM'd devices I have do seem to work so far.
     
  9. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,135
    Country:
    United States
    Well, yeah, if it is a stock rooted device then usually su won't ask to run apps but being rooted is the key to adding apps that work as hotspots. Many devices can use Android's built-in wifi tethering from ICS onward because it is a sysapp but w/o system privilages the wifi modules aren't able to be put into AP mode. I'm not sure how much you know so I'm not trying to tallk down but rather sharing info on the subject. :)
     

Share This Page