An OPEN SOURCE backup launcher has been created

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by ciper, Sep 27, 2008.

Sep 27, 2008
  1. ciper
    OP

    Member ciper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Via Tehskeen http://www.tehskeen.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9003 * This link has been purged. Awaiting a replacement. Until then here is a link to the current source code http://rs408.rapidshare.com/files/14891876...kuplauncher.tgz
    Link to the Official Backup Launcher Compatibility List



    PATCHMII custom IOS DOES NOT WORK WITH THIS
    Sorry everyone. I couldn't remember that I had used Waninkokos original Custom IOS and not patchme. Please forgive me for misleading you

    Installation instructions Category wrote up the steps to get it working so I added them to this post -
    1) UNINSTALL any cIOS on your system
    2) Install cIOS rev 5 (the one that was included in the first leaked loader) - CIOS36_rev5-64-v1042.wad
    3) Install DVDX with advanced install, and choose IOS249
    4) Copy the Backup Launcher dol to your homebrew channel apps folder or install the Backup Launcher Channel WAD
    5) Decrypt ISO with extractpartition/backup-creator (if using dvd+r set the book type to dvd-rom)
    6) Launch the game


    UPDATED - Here is an unofficial unsupported new version for you to test. Don't ask for help in the other forum if you use it
    http://rapidshare.com/files/148930532/back...uncher.dol.html
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=2GR6OAB0
    http://www.zshare.net/download/19541174cf660b87/
    http://www.badongo.com/file/11520768
    http://sharebee.com/6e8a771d

    Unofficial and unsupported Channel WAD of new version made by psycon
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/iz8q4k
     


  2. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd give it a go but both my Wii's have modchips installed, which I understand causes problems with the softmods.
     
  3. Zanonymous

    Newcomer Zanonymous Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Junkyard Ante
    Country:
    United States
    How come so many people have 2 Wiis?? Or is it just me
     
  4. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    If this works and is updated regulary then this dude may become a god.
     
  5. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wow, this is awesome! Unfortunately, I'm not that good at compiling sources, so I'll just use Waninkoko's Backup Loader until a compiled version is available.

    What I was wondering: do the "patched" Wii ISO's for Waninkoko's loader (I know there not patched but rather decrypted and extracted) still work? And is patching now possible in Linux?
     
  6. Quiche_on_a_leas

    Newcomer Quiche_on_a_leas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The thing I still don't get is why you need to install a cIOS.
    Surely it's quite possible to just use DI to read the disc?
     
  7. misticknight

    Member misticknight GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    916
    Country:
    Australia
    so is his version of the loader released or is this just in "programming" stages for now? either way it's great news.
     
  8. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is good news. I was hoping for someone to start up a new project.
     
  9. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One in the living room, one in the kids bedroom.

    It's what he wanted for his birthday!
     
  10. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You know something we dont? [​IMG]
     
  11. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Virtually every GC homebrew worth mentioning came from users on the Tehskeen forums.
     
  12. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes but you can never be sure [​IMG]
     
  13. oyeah1988

    Newcomer oyeah1988 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Lorain, OH
    Country:
    United States
    First Post for ME!
    It works fine! I am using an NTSC-U 3.3U wii with Metroid Prime 3 Corruption on A Sony DVD-R!
    It's just a little slow loading, but it does not give me a flickery screen, and its in color [​IMG]
     
  14. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome, NTSC works beautifully.
     
  15. psycon

    Newcomer psycon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Canada
  16. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You guys who have it working, NTSC with regular cables or with the component cables or what?
     
  17. oyeah1988

    Newcomer oyeah1988 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Lorain, OH
    Country:
    United States
    regular cables for mine
     
  18. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Regular AV cables. It should output in full color. I did a force NTSC just in case though.
     
  19. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Quite exciting then [​IMG]
     
  20. ciper
    OP

    Member ciper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Can we all behave ourselves and not ask for support at the other forum if you are using the unofficial build? I'd hate for the new developer to get pissed off as well!

    Otherwise it looks as if at least 4 people have tried it and it worked.
     

Share This Page