"An error has occurred" when launching ANY game.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by charlocharlie, Jan 22, 2015.

  1. charlocharlie
    OP

    charlocharlie Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 6, 2014
    United States
    I just homebrewed my Wii that I case modded and when launching any title (Wii, GC, VC), I get an error along the lines of:
    An error has occurred.​
    Press the Eject Button, remove the Game Disc, and turn off the power to the console.​
    Please read the Wii Operations Manual for further instructions.​
    The exact message varies for each type of game. The games I am loading have been from USB hard drive, SD card, and a WAD stored on the NAND. I know the game files work because they worked on my other softmodded Wii.

    I need to know if this is a software issue (related to IOS or something) or if my graphics chip is dead or something. The Wii menu, Hombrew Channel, and homebrew apps, all work correctly, but when booting games I get a black screen for a few seconds and then this error.

    I used this guide to start, and after I got the error, I tried out the ModMii guide.
     
  2. nikeymikey

    nikeymikey This is now a Spiderman thread.........

    Member
    973
    145
    Nov 19, 2008
    Can you run any original games from disc?
     
  3. charlocharlie
    OP

    charlocharlie Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 6, 2014
    United States
    I don't know if you saw the image I subtly linked above, but...
    [​IMG]

    Anyway, the Wii gets the error running Virtual Console games which don't even utilize the disc drive. My other Wii has a defective disc drive (though I didn't remove it) and it can play all games perfectly fine.
     
  4. nikeymikey

    nikeymikey This is now a Spiderman thread.........

    Member
    973
    145
    Nov 19, 2008
    So in other words you hacked at your wii with a hacksaw and then glued some clear plastic to it??

    Anyway to get on with your problem.... Have you tried running syscheck on your wii? If not then you should do so and then run the syscheck.csv that it puts on your sd card. Then give that file to ModMii on your pc and see if it tells you, theres anything you need to update your softmod.
     
  5. charlocharlie
    OP

    charlocharlie Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 6, 2014
    United States
    Yeah it's a lame mod but it was easy and with the disc LEDs on it looks cool.

    ModMii says everything is up to date from my SysCheck file. Here it is if you want to check out the IOS stuff: http://pastebin.com/X05ah0tN.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  6. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    16,541
    13,177
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    В небо
    I don't want to be rude but.....
    That's not a casemod, it's a massacre ._.

    I don't know much about the Wii but isn't a disc drive required to run any form of games?
     
    charlocharlie likes this.
  7. charlocharlie
    OP

    charlocharlie Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 6, 2014
    United States
    You don't need a disc drive for anything. My primary Wii that I use has a defective disc drive. I have never used it and I never will need to thanks to the magic of softmodding.
     
  8. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    16,541
    13,177
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    В небо
    Yay sundriver!

    I'd say rehack your Wii with ModMii.
    Install the latest USBloader or Wii flow.
     
  9. charlocharlie
    OP

    charlocharlie Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 6, 2014
    United States
    Sadly, I already have done that exact thing.
     
  10. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    16,541
    13,177
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    В небо
    Then I unfortunately am out of ideas.
    If it was a 360, I'd be able to help you more lol.
     
  11. nikeymikey

    nikeymikey This is now a Spiderman thread.........

    Member
    973
    145
    Nov 19, 2008
    Hmm yep everything looks good there to me, your syscheck looks just like mine does.


    All i can suggest is to maybe rehack the wii from scratch using modmii.. or even do a system format from the wii system menu and then rehack using modmii... Bear in mind that if you do format then you will lose all your savegames, channels etc that are installed on your wis nand
     
    charlocharlie likes this.
  12. charlocharlie
    OP

    charlocharlie Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 6, 2014
    United States
    Well this is too bad. I did a system format and went through the entire process again with ModMii, but after installing Smash 64, it still gets an error running the game.

    Unless I'm missing something, it's probably a hardware issue. If anyone still has anything that would help, I'm up for trying it.

    Thanks everyone.
     
  13. tswntk

    tswntk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    674
    136
    Aug 6, 2012
    Switzerland
    You need at least the control board from the drive to be connected.
    All games still access the drive and expect something to be returned even though the drive is defective.
     
  14. charlocharlie
    OP

    charlocharlie Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 6, 2014
    United States
    Wow that's really interesting. The system hacks in Priiloader don't actually prevent those checks? Like "remove diagnostic disc check".
    I think I threw away the disc drive and cables which is unfortunate. But thanks for the info.
     
  15. ilikegoldengrahams

    ilikegoldengrahams Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    67
    3
    Oct 20, 2014
    The Wii has to at least recognize the control board from the drive. I bought one a couple of weeks back with a shoddy drive and removed it entirely with the hope of case modding it in the future to find it won't play ball without the drive board recognition. Priiloader hacks didn't help me either so I had to go through putting the bloody thing back in again :hateit: