Gaming AMD Athlon dual core

cheez203

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Hi guys. i have a amd athlon dual core processor and i know dual core means 2 proccesors and when i go to system settings it says my speed is 2.31 ghz. Does that mean per processor or for both of them combined?

myuusmeow

Trophies
Website
google.com
XP
Country
United States
Do not make the mistake of thinking that this means you have a 4.62GHz processor. You don't. You have two cores on one die each running at 2.31GHz.

cheez203

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
myuusmeow said:
Do not make the mistake of thinking that this means you have a 4.62GHz processor. You don't. You have two cores on one die each running at 2.31GHz.

Sorry im not really good at this so you mean my pc is still at only 2.31 so not 4.62 even though i have two cores?

purplesludge

anyone have any ideas for this space
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
cheez203 said:
myuusmeow said:

Sorry im not really good at this so you mean my pc is still at only 2.31 so not 4.62 even though i have two cores?
It means they don't add together to equal a 4.62 ghz

BlackDave

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
cheez203 said:
myuusmeow said:

For example I have an Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53GHz. That's a dual core but when I rate the core the combined performance is 3.795 or something like that.

I found out the speed of my cores on this website

Try to run the test on Batman Arkham Asylum. that one gives you your core speed. Not all game rate the speed of the core

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Trophies
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
Country
United States
Each core allows you to do a task. Having multiple cores allows you to do multiple tasks at once.