Add Partition Without Losing Data?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by K.Wall.24, Jul 28, 2009.

Jul 28, 2009
  1. K.Wall.24
    OP

    Member K.Wall.24 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey everybody. I know there probably isnt a good way to do this, but, on the off-chance that there is, how can I take my hard drive, which is 100% WBFS formatted, and partition about 2 gigs to use for homebrew apps? I am only using about half the space available on my drive, but thats still a good 150GB, and thats stuff i dont really want to reinstall...

    Yes, I have an SD card which i normally use for homebrew, but yesterday I went to download a rockband 2 song and it said it didnt have enough space on the sd card to copy it over. my homebrew apps take up 1 of 2 GB on my sd card, so i would like to move homebrew to the usb hdd if at all possible.

    So, is there a way to do it?
     
  2. roku93

    Member roku93 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Finland
    Country:
    Finland
    Hmm.. Your best bet is probably copying the games to your computer, reformat and copy back.. You can do those long copyings at night while sleeping.
     
  3. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    ive done this with EASEUS Partition Master 4.0.1 Home Edition, but it took forever!
    just right click your hard drive, then choose resize/move.
    in the spot where it says "unallocated space after" will be there size in MB of the partition you created.
    right click it and choose create and choose fat32 and primary.
     
  4. donowprod

    Newcomer donowprod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    What about making the new fat32 partition the first partition on the drive?
    I heard that it needs to be the first partition or it will not work.
     
  5. wiiiiimiiiii

    Newcomer wiiiiimiiiii Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Sort of the same problem. Is resizing safe? Will it keep all my current data and it won't format any data?
     
  6. ThatDudeWithTheFood

    Member ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    he said choose primary it should make it the first partition so it is read first
     
  7. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    just be sure it's FAT32 Primary Active and it should work
     
  8. iceache

    Member iceache GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    You would have to format the drive to get FAT32 at the beginning.
     

Share This Page