Actel Chips

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Ballistic, Feb 25, 2009.

Feb 25, 2009

Actel Chips by Ballistic at 9:29 AM (795 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. Ballistic
    OP

    Member Ballistic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
    I've upgraded from R4 to Acekard 2i for a few months now (loving it). Curiosity striked me when I noticed that a lot of the newer flashcarts are using those Actel chips which seems to protrude a bit under their stickers. What do these chips actually do? I'll try my best to understand from a "less tech-headed" point of view.
     
  2. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    This is entirely speculation on my part, but my guess is that their main feature is being cheaper. Now, I've never manufactured any flash cards, so I have no idea what kind of costs go into them, but I can't think of any other advantage to using the larger chips.
     
  3. camintmier

    Newcomer camintmier Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    WV, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Here's more info about the Actel FPGA chip used in the CycloDS. At least, that's what's used in the CycloDS I have...
     
  4. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so, flashcards use FPGAs then hmm... I always thought they must use something like a CPLD or microcontroller.
     

Share This Page