Hardware Acer Extensa 5235 Set Up Error

Deleted member 411764

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2017
Messages
260
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
495
Country
United Kingdom
So... I've been dealing with this problem for more than a year now and want this problem solved.

I've tried visiting websites for assistance and youtube tutorials, but they never work.

Problem:
Install Windows error

Message:
Window could not complete the installation. To install Windows on this computer, restart installation.

I tried inputting the cmd command unfortunately that has no effect and it stays frozen on the error till I restart my laptop. I really want to return to using this laptop as it has much more storage than my current one and I'd like to play steam games such as GTA V, Naruto 4 & Much More.

If someone could help me through this process i'd be happy :). Also I don't want to spend money on buying a window recovery disk as this laptop is kinda old and I'll be using my current laptop for video editing and youtube/social related stuff.

Here's a preview of my problem:
 

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,408
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
18,060
Country
United States
Well first of all, if this is indeed the same laptop I have sitting in some boxes downstairs, you're not going to be playing squat on it with it's specs.

It's got like a Celeron 900 (a single core CPU), Intel GMA integrated graphics, and DDR2 RAM, anywhere between 1-4GB depending on what got put into it. That's not even remotely enough to play AAA games from the last 10 years, let alone GTA V. You could replace the CPU with a C2D (which I did), but that won't do much since you're still stuck with Intel GMA graphics, which is like one of the most potato IGP around for that era.

If you wanted more storage for whatever reason (which has literally nothing to do with what games you could run, BTW), you could just pull the HDD from that laptop and put it in your other one (whatever specs it might have).
 

raystriker

The powers that be
Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
1,525
Trophies
0
XP
2,219
Country
India
Seriously, my phone has more computing power than that laptop. If you wanna play games like GTA V, you need a serious upgrade over that lappy.
 

Deleted member 411764

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2017
Messages
260
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
495
Country
United Kingdom
Well first of all, if this is indeed the same laptop I have sitting in some boxes downstairs, you're not going to be playing squat on it with it's specs.

It's got like a Celeron 900 (a single core CPU), Intel GMA integrated graphics, and DDR2 RAM, anywhere between 1-4GB depending on what got put into it. That's not even remotely enough to play AAA games from the last 10 years, let alone GTA V. You could replace the CPU with a C2D (which I did), but that won't do much since you're still stuck with Intel GMA graphics, which is like one of the most potato IGP around for that era.

If you wanted more storage for whatever reason (which has literally nothing to do with what games you could run, BTW), you could just pull the HDD from that laptop and put it in your other one (whatever specs it might have).

The other reason is storing files from my current laptop. But I need help fixing this problem.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Seriously, my phone has more computing power than that laptop. If you wanna play games like GTA V, you need a serious upgrade over that lappy.

This laptop is over 10 years old :/.

The other reason is storing files from my current laptop. But I need help fixing this problem.
 

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,408
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
18,060
Country
United States
The only solution I could think of would be to use a Windows disc to reinstall Windows. It sounds like a Windows install was attempted on the laptop at some point, but crashed part of the way through and can't continue. Not much else you can do beyond just reinstalling. If you have another PC around, burn a Windows ISO of your preferred Windows version or use a USB drive to install Windows via USB.
 

Deleted member 411764

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2017
Messages
260
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
495
Country
United Kingdom
All I really want to do is fix this window installation problem.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

The only solution I could think of would be to use a Windows disc to reinstall Windows. It sounds like a Windows install was attempted on the laptop at some point, but crashed part of the way through and can't continue. Not much else you can do beyond just reinstalling. If you have another PC around, burn a Windows ISO of your preferred Windows version or use a USB drive to install Windows via USB.

I'm currently using my new laptop, is there a tutorial / step by step guide on doing so?

Also this acer laptop is window 7 while my lenovo is window 10. Will this work?
 

DarkFlare69

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
5,145
Trophies
2
Location
Ohio
XP
4,616
Country
United States
All I really want to do is fix this window installation problem.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



I'm currently using my new laptop, is there a tutorial / step by step guide on doing so?

Also this acer laptop is window 7 while my lenovo is window 10. Will this work?
its extremely simple. download iso, use rufus to create usb, put it into old laptop, boot into bios, boot from usb, install.
 

Originality

Chibi-neko
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,709
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
London, UK
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
1,846
Country
Acer often have a factory restore hidden partition that can be accessed by holding down a certain key during POST. So long as you’ve not wiped the drive when trying to reinstall Windows, that should be an option.

Otherwise I find the best way to reinstall Windows is either using an install disk (widely supported) or from USB (not always supported, sometimes fiddly, but much much faster).
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: At least we have the cartels helping us get it on the down low