Acekard 2i not working help

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by apachbe, Jul 17, 2011.

Jul 17, 2011

Acekard 2i not working help by apachbe at 11:54 PM (1,031 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. apachbe
    OP

    Newcomer apachbe Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    I just got a Acekard 2i yesterday and i am having some problems i can not change the skin or any other system options(i try to change them and nothing happens). I also can not save any roms(they work but after i turn off the dsi there is no save file);
    I have a Dsi that is ver 1.4.1 U
    and the acekard 2i has akaio 1.8.1 i am a complete noobie and could use any help
    i have a 4gb micro sd card and it has been formatted/ no corruption
    P.S. i do not think the card is fake because i got it from VeeBuy where my friend got one and his works fine
     
  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/AKAIO#Quick_Guide

    Code:
    1.Format the microSD with the Panasonic formatter. 
    2.Download the current version of AKAIO 
    3.Decompress (using WinZIP, WinRAR, 7z, etc) the file and put the __aio* folder and akmenu4.nds at the Root (top most directory) of your microSD card 
    4.Insert the microSD card firmly in the non-spring loaded ak2.1 and ak2i. If your microSD slot is spring loaded make sure it "clicks." 
    5.Insert the Acekard firmly into your NDS, again make sure it clicks**. 
    6.Boot up the NDS, select the Acekard from the firmware Slot-1 selection box, and enjoy 
    *Please note that the __aio folder is hidden by in the globalsettings.ini file by default, do not place homebrew or roms in this folder as you will not be able to access them. You can however set the GUI to display all hidden files and folders. The recommended method is to place your files into folders in Root. Never place a file you want to access in the __aio directory. 
    
    **The AK2i may experience Printed Circuit Board (PCB) contact issues. In these instances the AK2i may fail to be recognized by the NDS Firmware and will not be displayed or the unflashed Acekard logo will be displayed. Other contact issues can happen after AKAIO has been booted causing Homebrew and ROM execution to freeze and/or save reading and writing to fail. Other issues may occur and this information has only been added as a general guide line for possible boot errors.
    follow those steps and then post back.

    -another world
     
  3. apachbe
    OP

    Newcomer apachbe Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Have tried all of the above (format, re download... ect) and it did not help i still have the same problem of not being able to hold a save or change the system settings. when I try to change the skin it says loading then flashes and it looks like it restarts I am guessing that is bad? thank you for trying any other idea?
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    depending on what O/S you use, run a disk check on your micro sd card. make sure you don't have any damaged or bad sectors.

    what type of micro sd card are you using?
    you did use the panasonic formatter to format your micro sd card?

    -another world
     
  5. HammerGuy

    Newcomer HammerGuy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Portugal
    Maybe it's the version of AKAIO you have. Are you sure you are using the latest one, which is AKAIO 1.8.7?
     
  6. SlickGate

    Newcomer SlickGate Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    China
    Country:
    China
    Strange thing..
     
  7. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    what the hell was the point of that reply? if you aren't going to help out why are you posting? how does "strange thing" further the conversation in any way what-so-ever?

    -another world
     
  8. apachbe
    OP

    Newcomer apachbe Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    My O/S is windows 7, I have the newest AKAIO 1.8.7, i have checked for damaged or bad sectors and found none, i used panasonic formatter to format my micro sd card and i have no idea what type of micro sd card i am using i bought it from future shop and it was about $20. i also tried a second micro sd card and it had the same problem that card was made by sandisk i believe
     
  9. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    kingston and sandisk seem to be the cards most "chinese" shops bundle with their flash kits and this is usually because they are the most pirated and cloned micro sd cards.

    you should try both micro sd cards in another flash kit or micro sd device. if you are sure that they are working then perhaps the issue is with the micro sd slot on the acekard. i have read about users who had bad micro sd slots, everything from corrupt data to actually frying the micro sd card.

    instead of going crazy trying to figure this out why don't you contact your reseller and ask for an exchange. acekard provides a 1 yr warranty on all of their official products (assuming your card is real).

    -another world
     
  10. apachbe
    OP

    Newcomer apachbe Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    okay i will try that,
    i am trying to find the globalsettings.ini but am unable do you know where it is located and how to get to it i think this may be the problem.
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    you can try deleting the globalsettings.ini and the optionlist.bin. both files are in the _aio directory.

    its highly unlikely that either file is causing your problem. optionlist.bin use to cause some eratic behavior but it was fixed a few revisions ago. i've never known globalsettings.ini to cause any conflicts that would result in save issues.

    the problems are pointing to your microsd cards or the microsd slot.

    after you reformat, when you reinstall akaio make sure you are using a fresh copy and not the back-up from your micro sd card.

    you might also want to try just 1 game (instead of reloading the msd) just for testing, and verify it is a good dump by its CRC value against a goodset list (like http://advanscene.com/html/dbndsrel.php)

    -another world
     
  12. apachbe
    OP

    Newcomer apachbe Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Well this might be the problem neither the globalsettings.ini pr optionlist.bin. are there. could be a problem for saving or changing skin?

    can you tell me if anything important is missing because this is what is in my _aio directory
    Cheats folder
    fonts folder
    language folder
    loaders folder
    plugin folder
    ui folder
    ak - icon
    ak2_sd.dldi - DLDI file
    lastsave - configuration settings
    power off - bitmap image
    rpg_nand.dldi - DLDI file
    rpg_sd.dldi - DLDI file
    savelist - Vlc media file
    sdlist - configuration settings
     
  13. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    if you change just 1 setting and save that change the globalsettings.ini will be written.

    are you sure your micro sd card isn't read only or something odd?

    -another world
     
  14. apachbe
    OP

    Newcomer apachbe Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    no because i have tried 2 different micro sd card cards and they are both doing the same thing so i do not think that they are the problem it may be the acekard 2i itself
    the problem is that when i try to change a setting the acekard 2i resets so i have no idea how to make it stop
     

Share This Page