acekard 2i Nintendo Screen freeze

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by tj445, Jul 1, 2010.

Jul 1, 2010
  1. tj445
    OP

    Member tj445 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Japan
    So i was playing with my acekard 2i just as i would normally when suddenly it started to freeze just when the N of NIntendo DS shows up on the upper screen.
    Is this problem internal with the card or is it from the SD? since it does the same thing even if i open it without a SD.

    i use Akaio latest version and dont remember doing anything that would cause such freezes.

    Any help at all would be appreciated
     


  2. Nuada

    Newcomer Nuada Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Ireland
    Try starting it with no cart in the slot. If it still locks up it's probably a firmware problem in the DS itself. I'm new to the whole DS thing so maybe someone else can talk you through reflashing it.
     
  3. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah I used to get it with my DSL, it didn't matter if I had a game cart in the slot or not it still froze up sometimes. I thinks it's a problem with the internal hardware.
     
  4. tj445
    OP

    Member tj445 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Japan
    It only freezes with the Acekard inside.
    btw im using a DSL so it might be a slot recognition problem?
    the paper trick unfortunately didnt work
     
  5. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have 3 paper tricks in my guide in my sig, try the last one.

    Have you tried flashing it with the 1.4 FW update? perhaps it's firmware has corrupted.
     
  6. tj445
    OP

    Member tj445 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Japan
    sorry to ask but whats flashing?
     
  7. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's rewriting the firmware to the Acekard's internal memory (not the MicroSD card).

    You will need another FlashCart to do this, but it doesn't have to be an Acekard.

    It's also worth having a look inside your DS's cart slot, make sure all the contacts are straight. Also have a look at the Acekard contacts and compare them to the photo in my guide.

    At a last resort, you can try opening up the Acekard and try reseating the PCB. Opening up the cart may break the 4 pegs, but you will be able to stick it back together without the retailer noticing if you send it back for a replacement.

    You could perhaps try resetting your DS by removing the battery for 1/2 hour. You will lose your friend codes though.
     
  8. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
  9. tj445
    OP

    Member tj445 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Japan
    I dont get it, how am i supposed to update it when i cant even open it?
    the guide presumes you can boot your acekard but i cant even get pass the Health screen

    Edit: nvm i will use my friend's R4 to do it, thanks for the tip
     
  10. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    He knows you can't get passed the Health Screen and he's suggesting using another flashcard.
     
  11. tj445
    OP

    Member tj445 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Japan
    i just got another Acekard 2i from a friend and that one booted fine on the first try, second time it gave me the exact same freeze with my own card.
    my DSL's contacts are ok as the commercial games run fine with it. tried all the paper tricks that existed, leaned both cards and my DSL's contacts with cotton and its still the same.
    what are the chances of my DS bricking the card?
     
  12. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I doubt it, unless the DS is giving the Acekard to much electrical power.

    Have you tried both Acekard's in your friends DS?
     
  13. tj445
    OP

    Member tj445 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Japan
    he is not avalable till late today.
    in the meanwhile i tried tilting up my contacts using a very slim clip which i shaped like a hook, and still no luck even with this.
    i was thinking to open the Acekard and put it inside a Commercial game cover so it has the guide rails
     
  14. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Before you do anything, I would wait until you can try it on his DS.

    If his cart was working fine on his and then stopped working on your DS on the second boot, something is probably going on with your DS.
     
  15. tj445
    OP

    Member tj445 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Japan
    i just got his DS and flashed both the cards via a R4 of another friend.
    They started working normally.

    After several trial and error i found out the cause of this.
    its the new ROM of Inazuma eleven 3

    i first found a copy on a doujin game blog, this one caused the Health screen freeze.
    the second one i got from another site caused the same freezing but this time it froze on the Loading screen.

    Both of the ROMs are tested with Patch and non-patch
    Both these happened when a save file of that game was written in the DS.
    if you do not save it, it wont cause any problems at all.

    i will later go and report this to the Release thread :/
    Apparently Level 5 found a way to brick Acekards >_>
    works perfectly on the R4
     
  16. tj445
    OP

    Member tj445 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Japan
    If someone manages to get this working or has further suggestions please notify me
     
  17. FlameTakuya

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    Oh, my friend is having this problem with the Acekard she got today too. freezes at the health screen. The last game she played was Hakuoki. :/

    [​IMG]

    Freezes like that.

    Can't figure out why either...
     
  18. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just unbrick it as in by guide.

    Hakuouki DS is also another 512MB ROM, just like Inazuma eleven 3 and Love Plus Plus.
     
  19. FlameTakuya

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    Just to be clear, after unbricking is done, will Hakuoki run as per normal? Or is it not advised to be played on it? Or will a patch or a rom from a different source be needed?
     
  20. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Given that it's bricked it once, it's likely to brick it again. It seems to only effect a small number of people, and it's been suggested it's related to the MicroSD card. So if you can, try another MicroSD card.

    The OP in this thread managed to brick 2 Acekards using the same game and presumably the same MicroSD card. For whatever reason, this only seems to effect the 512MB japanese games of which there are only a handful.
     

Share This Page