AceKard 2 and M3 Sakura Comparison?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Panic101, Aug 20, 2009.

Aug 20, 2009
  1. Panic101
    OP

    Member Panic101 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    Just wondering basically I like the idea of the RTS feature I'm aware that m3 Sakura has this feature, I don't know about Acekard 2. So does it have RTS?

    Also, what makes the Acekard 2 more advantageous then m3 sakura? If anything..thanks.
     


  2. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Meh I love Sakura, it might not have as many features as the acekard's menu but boy the features it does have are pretty awesome. Moonshell is built in so you don't need an external homebrew to run movies or music, it has the recently run list that shows up everytime you boot Sakura (it can be turned off) showing a list of the last 5 run games and or applications and you can click on them to run them, it also has a disk check that runs everytime you boot Sakura (again can be turned off) it's a quick 5 second check that checks to make sure none of your micro SD is corrupted, Sakura is included as a double boot so you can easily switch between Sakura and the official M3 firmware, and last but not least it looks beautiful there's so many skins and it's a firmware with very good and responsive touch screen abilities my favorite part is how you can see the whole list of things in a folder instead of only like seeing 4 things per page the scrolling is pixel by pixel.

     
  3. benjaminlibl

    Member benjaminlibl Funky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    You can do all of that with Moonshell. I remain unconvinced.
     
  4. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    M3 Sakura:
    RTS
    Scrolling Menu
    Can play DPG's and others from firmware. (if only AKAIO could do that, it would be perfect. I'm satisfied with MP3's though)
    Sliding thingy

    AKAIO:
    Faster
    More skins and easier
    Faster loading
    Faster Updates
    Supports plugins for different file extensions
     
  5. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    You can do mostly anything on Moonshell that M3 Sakura could do except RTS.

    Oh and no more plugins for AKAIO 1.5. If only AKAIO had RTS and could play Music straight off the menu. For looks I like AKAIO and M3 Sakura the same. But AKAIO could trim roms.
     
  6. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Ok have fun with the acekard, I have failed to convince you.
     
  7. Panic101
    OP

    Member Panic101 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    The RTS feature just really appeals to me though lol..arrgh but AKAIO seems to be better. BUT THE RTS T__T I NEED IT. One more question do AKAIO ever plan on coming out with a RTS feature?= in the near future? Like do you have a timeline of when that could happen?

    Lol, thanks for the info guys anything else you want to share I would love to hear it.
     
  8. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    i dont think akaio will include rts
    im not sure but well find out soon enough cuz akaio 1.5 is comin out soon
    anyways sakura is amazing, i love it but akaio appeals to me way more
    one thing i really like about akaio is that it includes lmp-ng music player and m3 sakura is a fusion menu with moonshell but i still like lmp-ng
     
  9. Panic101
    OP

    Member Panic101 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    Another question PharaohsVizier, Acekard has support for multiple saves per game, right? Does M3 Sakura have this feature or no?
     
  10. GreatZimkogway

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    I've never really understood what's so great about real time saves... Most games have a save function already, and losing/dying...if you use an RTS file, you can't say you haven't essentially cheated at the game. But neh, whatever. It's why I like my Acekard 2i better.
     
  11. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    i dont think it does
     
  12. Panic101
    OP

    Member Panic101 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, you're right I don't to cheat like that. On the bright side, Ackeard is like 11 bucks so I guess I'll go with that. lol...hope I made the right choice. Is there a list of changes in the AKAIO 1.5 version I can see anywhere? Or maybe someone can tell me what they're doing for that firmware release, I'm very curious. Thanks. [​IMG]
     
  13. GreatZimkogway

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    When you're using it like that, yes, it's fine. But I know for a fact that most people who use it, well, use it right before say...a big boss fight that has a bit to go through before getting to it. To me, that's why I consider it stupid.
     
  14. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    wel yeah it does act as a way of cheating but its a good feature to use and very usful
    i dont really think of it as a way of cheating and i dont really use it but i do think that ts really usefull
     
  15. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    RTS is more of a cheat than playing the original, but less than an invincibility AR code. And as nearly every flash card supports AR codes, I do not think RTS are too much cheating. It is a cheat I gladly use. I acknowledge that I am not a very good player and that I sometimes need this to be able to continue (in fact, I would still not have beaten Super Mario Bros. if the DX version did not introduce save points between levels), but I only use it if I absolutely need it or if I consider the save system of the game stupid/unusable. With the additional power draw of flash cards, it can also come in handy as a substitute for sleep mode.
     
  16. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    yeh
    some games really do have really stupid saving systems
    unlike pokemon games like platinum u just have to press start or watever and go tot eh mane and theres a save option
    if all games were like that we wouldnt need rts
     
  17. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I sometimes use RTS to cheat when I am honest to god backed in a corner in Phoenix Wright and don't feel like using the crappy save system that MAKES you go back to the menu instead of being able to continue, and other times I use it when like my battery is running low things like that.

    Anyways Panic101 I think you could live without RTS if you really see a problem with m3i zero and like the acekard. Just go with your gut instinct I'm not going to further convince you cause that'll make me look like some fanboy trying to convince people just because I also have that flashcart...and I'm not.
     
  18. Panic101
    OP

    Member Panic101 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    Nah man, I know you're not a fanboy, but you're really knowledgeable on the M3 card which is great thanks for your input. However, I've been thinking besides the RTS man, M3 Sakura doesn't update as fast and as much, and what's crazy is we don't even know why that's going on. AKAIO however updates fast as I can see and that to me is a little extra security in the comfort section.
     
  19. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Sakura actually does update frequently it's just I think lately the updates have been slow because they've been trying to get M3i Zero out and the 1.4 fix done.

    They just recently released 1.41 (like yesterday) which fixes all cheats and includes an in menu delete function (press select+L to be asked to delete the file selected).

    Earlier in like April they were pumping out alot of Sakura updates like every couple of weeks tops.
     
  20. cngamemart

    Banned cngamemart Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    China
    that could probably be right,they never stop
     

Share This Page