1. tigris

    OP tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Country:
    Right, it's really simple

    1) Get your Smartphone, make sure it supports Wifi portable hotspot and that you have a (preferably) unlimited 3G/4G data plan or enough data on PAYG.

    If you can't find hotspot settings, try toggling it on with this https://play.google....t.hotspot&hl=en if you've got an Android

    2) In your portable hotspot settings, find the SSID and change accordingly
    IF NA REGION 3DS= attwifi
    IF EU REGION (UK/GB) 3DS= _The Cloud

    IF EU REGION (ANYWHERE ELSE) 3DS= NintendoSpotPass1
    IF JP REGION 3DS= wifine

    (Advanced Tip: If you like being choosy, here's a list of all hotspot SSIDs to pick from)

    3) Turn on your hotspot (On your Smartphone)

    4) Close your 3DS and toggle the wireless switch on-off

    [​IMG]

    5) The Nintendo Zone Viewer should appear on your home menu and you should be able to play stuff

    P.S- I use an Android phone with CyanogenMod so help is limited on other smart platforms
    N.B- 3DS supports only INFRASTRUCTURE mode wifi connections, not AD-HOC. Check if your phone tether supports infrastructure connectivity before attempting this.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13,067
    Country:
    United States
    I suggest any Android users that don't pay for a hotspot service should download Foxfi* from Google Play (if you're a no-root user) or WiFi Tether for Root Users if you are rooted.

    *For any US people with Sprint that want to do this, to download Foxfi you need to go to foxfi.com/bin as Sprint had Google remove it from the Play Store.
     
  3. andyhappypants

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    513
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anyone know if there is a workaround for iphone users??
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  4. tatripp

    tatripp GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Country:
    United States
    I highly doubt it because i'm pretty sure Iphones can't turn into a wifi hotspot.
     
  5. BORTZ

    BORTZ The Amazing
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,979
    Country:
    United States
    If you are jailbroken. There was a Tether app that made it into the app store for like 3 days, but was taken down.
    Myfi or whatever can do it. It takes 3G and emits a Wifi signal for others to use.
     
  6. andyhappypants

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    513
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Awesome, Thanks for that! :D
     
  7. unopepito06

    unopepito06 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    Im on at&t, I have the 5gb a month data plan, which includes tethering and portable wifi hotspot. If you don't have a supported plan, expect to pay some money, or root.
     
  8. tigris

    OP tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Country:
    Margen67 likes this.
  9. Archadae

    Archadae Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Poland

    Its _The Cloud (with a space) not _TheCloud
     
  10. DaRk_ViVi

    DaRk_ViVi Sending you back... to the future!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,085
    Country:
    Italy
    You can do the same with a standard Access Point (my Router allow multiple SSID for istance), just create a wireless network with one of those SSID. :)
    However once entered into the Nintendo Zone app I can't access the service. :(

    EDIT: had to turn off encryption on the wireless network!

    As Archadae said, correct EU SSID is _The Cloud with a space
     
  11. Rizsparky

    Rizsparky Saiyan Prince
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,479
    Country:
    I have a 'guest' SSID on my router thats hidden so its not discoverable to neighbors, works fine. But nintendo zone iscrap and there's never anything worth watching/downloading
     
  12. buyme97
    This message by buyme97 has been removed from public view by Costello, Jan 5, 2013.
    Jan 5, 2013 Show
  13. ground

    ground GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    910
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Margen67 likes this.
  14. Rizsparky

    Rizsparky Saiyan Prince
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,479
    Country:
    Wait a second... the SSID's that are 'Special Nintendo events', anything special happen when connected to them?
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  15. qweesy777

    qweesy777 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    very nice thank you
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  16. driverdis

    driverdis I am Justice
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,571
    Country:
    United States
    the instructions were easy to follow and concise, something that other people's guides/tutorials seem to be lacking lately.

    also, Nintendo Zone will work on any Open WiFi as long as the SSID is one from the list and matches the region of the DSi/3DS.

    I am running 2 seperate Access Points with SSID "attwifi" so now my house has 100% Nintendo Zone coverage.
    I set these up originally for legacy devices (or Nintendo Devices also since they might as well be considered legacy devices in terms of supported WiFi Encryption modes)

    also, I found out Nintendo Zone will not work with WEP(64/128bit),(WPA(AES/TKIP),WPA2(AES/TKIP) Enabled BUT it will work if you use MAC Filtering only.
    I set both AP's up with MAC filtering to keep leechers off. (of course this will not stop anyone with any knowledge of how MAC Filtering works from connecting anyway via MAC Spoofing.
    the DSi/3DS still connects to Nintendo Zone since MAC Filtering does not require connected devices to do anything else then connect same as if it were fully wide open.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  17. Phanox

    Phanox GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    Colombia
    Thanks for the tip! I have an unlimited data plan and I use a Galaxy S Captivate with Slim Bean 3.1 ROM. No problems so far :)
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  18. tigris

    OP tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Country:
    Cheers! Updated with some info from the posts I read :)
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  19. Silithas

    Silithas GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Norway
    I tried both uk and elsewhere's ssid's, but i only get error code 013-8805
     
  20. DjoeN

    DjoeN Captain Haddock!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5,463
    Country:
    Belgium
    Well this works, but it's not 100%
     
  21. rjwboys

    rjwboys Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    welp nintendo zone is discontinued
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Smartphone, Nintendo, anywhere