About to get a PS2, few questions.

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by trumpet-205, Oct 20, 2010.

Oct 20, 2010
  1. trumpet-205
    OP

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    So I am planning to get a PS2. Problem is that I don't know which model to get. Some say that Phat is better while others say otherwise. Also I plan to get roughly 15-20 games for this PS2, so what size of memory card should I get?

    If you must know, I'm getting this PS2 to primarily play Kingdom Hearts, Final Fantasy, Tales series, Metal Gear Solid, Fatal Frame, and few more games.
     
  2. Recorderdude

    Member Recorderdude Musician, Animator, Buffoon.

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,392
    Country:
    United States
    Okay.

    First of all, do you plan to SOFTMOD your PS2 to play backups, or are you going to BUY all of your games?/chip it?

    If you're going to SOFTMOD it, get any model EXCEPT for the SPCH-9000x (superslim) models. Most SPCH-9000x models made since the third quarter of 2008 do not allow the booting of the PS2's most used homebrew/booting menu. With one of these you need a swap disc or modchip JUST to boot games and emus/homebrews. However if you're going to chip it anyway it's not a problem.

    If you plan to BUY all of those games (or just chip your PS2), GET a SPCH-9000x new. Since they're new, their laser will last longer than used older models, and you'll be able to enjoy your games more.

    ALSO, you should really never get any MCs besides SONY and NYKO 8MBs. Pretty much any other card (or size) will crash on you sooner or later and your saves will be lost or garbled and stuck on the card.
     
  3. trumpet-205
    OP

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    I'm leaning towards SCPH-9000x (for brand new) and a modchip. Though I'm not sure if I can find a modchip that supports SCPH-9000x.

    Does Duo 3 Ultra works with SCPH-9000x?
     
  4. Recorderdude

    Member Recorderdude Musician, Animator, Buffoon.

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,392
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure about the duo 3 ultra (on their site they list it as "maybe") but Modbo 4.0 and any newer modbo, and Matrix infinity 1.93 and any newer MI work.
     
  5. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    Duo3 and Modbo 4 (1.93 & 1.99) works... many of them still work. The only ones I installed on 9000x so far are with these two chips so I cannot say about other ones.
     
  6. trumpet-205
    OP

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Do these modchips offer 100% compatibility? With their official websites down are there any support left?

    Also what memory size should I be getting? How much saves can a 8MB card hold (just roughly)?
     
  7. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States

    There aren't going to be any support. Support on most, if not all PS2 chips died out already. Modbo is a clone of a Matrix Infinity and runs on the Matrix Infinity firmware. Matrix Infinity chip is no longer updated and the modbo aren't update-able anyway. There are decent chips for their price.
    http://swei.cc/chip/modbo/Modbo4.0%28New%2...H-071-42%29.jpg

    As with memory card size, it depends on the game that you are playing. I never had problems with unofficial cards and corruptions as long as they were used correctly and with memory that isn't hacked. Some sports game take 1MB of save data. But most are smaller. Unofficial 16MB memory cards are quite cheap and have better compatible with some games compared to sizes bigger than 16MB.
     
  8. UnitGGChamp

    Newcomer UnitGGChamp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    The 90001 version is the best bet.. I owned the fat and 3 old slim models..The 9000 series is the only ps2 I had where I play 4-5 hours straight and no overheating or hot disc(warm) The last model used better technology thus lacking the vents created on the fat and slim..
     
  9. trumpet-205
    OP

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm...... Dead support for modchips. Dunno. Gotta look into Swap Disc now.

    As for memory card, Sony only sells 8MB card right?
     
  10. mad567

    Member mad567 D. Gregar

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    505
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    Greece
    Well a friend gave me a fat ps2 he bought a PS3........
    I use it only for dvd and to play san andreas since i Have only 2 games [​IMG]
     
  11. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    I seen 3rd party 16MB with Sony logos on it and stuff, but not sure if there is a official one. Swap Disc support has been dead too. Swap Magic Coder was released about 4 years ago and there is no new update. There isn't really anything to fix though, since both swap disc and modchips are working quite good already. But modchips could be fixing up their bugs and swap magic could be updating their cheat codes.
     
  12. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    Dealextreme now has modbo modchip clone at 4$ this is the best compatibility youll get and this price cant go wrong.

    As for memory cards kingdom hearts 2 among many others will not take anything else that 8 mb unless you put the save on the card. I have both a 64mb and 8mb its easier that way use 64mb and swap if there a problem. does not have to be 1st party just 8 mb.

    But you can also do the freemcboot softmod the best would be buying a fat a network adapter and change the HDD and load off that.
     

Share This Page