TEMPORARY MODE ENABLED
New posts, edits, and any changes will not be saved during the transition period.
Registrations are temporarily disabled until the migration is complete.

  1. Bean_BR

    OP Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi, here I am again bothering you all:P
    Well, I have Windows 7 Home Basic 64-bit OEM that came preinstalled from factory. When I used it for the first time I was prompted to create Recovery Disks the soon as possible, and so I did. It was some months ago.
    Now I want to format my HD and reinstall the Windows as it came from the manufacturer. My questions are:
    1 - Using the Recovery Disks, Windows will be exactly how I first started it or it will be like in the moment I've made the disks?
    2 - And the most important: will I need to reactivate Windows?
    Note: It is the same PC and there is no hardware changes.
    Thanks.
     
  2. Kyouhei

    Kyouhei GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    543
    Country:
    United States
    I had to use my recovery discs a few months ago,
    1. Yes.
    2. No.
     
  3. Bean_BR

    OP Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Brazil

    OK, but it will be as it came from factory, "untouched"?
     
  4. Kyouhei

    Kyouhei GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    543
    Country:
    United States
    yep, recovery discs initiate a factory wipe, basically meaning it will go back to when you first turned it on.
     
  5. Bean_BR

    OP Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Brazil

    OK, I never did this so I was afraid of fucking something.
    Thanks for the info:lol:
     
  6. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    1 - It depends. If it was just you burning pre-made images (they do this sometimes because it's cheaper for them) then it'll be factory. If however, it had to actually make an image at that time, then it'll be from the point you made the discs.
     
  7. Bean_BR

    OP Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Brazil

    I remember that before burning the DVDs (2), the program extracted the files from somewhere (maybe the hidden partition that is in my HD) and then after the burning, the program checked the DVDs to see if everything went fine. After that, the program never showed up again.
    EDIT: One more thing, the burning program said that it would burn the Recovery Disks only once.
     
  8. Bean_BR

    OP Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Brazil
  9. trumpet-205

    trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Recovery discs are usually made from hidden partition on your HDD. Most of the time they will be in factory condition. There should be no need to reactive Windows again (it is already activated at factory).

    And yes, you can only burn recovery discs once.
     
  10. Bean_BR

    OP Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Brazil

    If I use the recovery disks the HD will be formatted first right? What about that hidden partition?
     
  11. trumpet-205

    trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    The hidden partition should be restored too.
     
  12. Bean_BR

    OP Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Brazil
    OK, thank you all for the info:lol:
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - reinstalling, Windows,