About Gecko OS

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Supa_S, Oct 11, 2008.

Oct 11, 2008

About Gecko OS by Supa_S at 7:29 PM (5,494 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. Supa_S
    OP

    Newcomer Supa_S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Okay so a few questions

    1- Is there a guide for it?
    2- Does it work for all games?
    3- Is there a possibility that it will brick my Wii?
    4- Will it work on my wii? I'm currently using 3.2U
    5- What is the latest version? I currently have 1.5
    6- I've heard from a friend that it also allows you to play gamecube games. Is this true?

    Thanks a lot!
     


  2. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The latest version of Gecko OS is 1.07b. It's regionfree functions should work on most games, also gamecube. It does not work as a backup loader though, so it won't help your running a copied disc if you have no modchip.
    It does not modify anything on the Wii itself, so there should be no risk of bricking.
     
  3. Supa_S
    OP

    Newcomer Supa_S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Thanks kedest. My next question is, how do I install the latest version? I've got the homebrew channel but I haven't had a chance of actually using anything on it.
     
  4. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you get a channel of it as a wad, then you can install it through a application(channel) wad manager, or you could just use the application, and put the folder gecko which ever one into your apps folder on your SD
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That's easy. Just unpack it to it's own folder in \APPS.
    That's how all Wii homebrew works. Just put it in a folder under APPS and the homebrew channel will find it and show it in the menu
     
  6. Supa_S
    OP

    Newcomer Supa_S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Bahrain
    So I'm assuming that means that the version of Gecko that I currently have has a folder on the SD card. Should I just copy and replace then?
     
  7. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, if you don't have it installed as a channel, it's on your SD card. You can just overwrite it.
     
  8. Supa_S
    OP

    Newcomer Supa_S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Thanks a lot kedest! I'm gonna give it a try and see if it works (I don't own any PAL wii games but I've got some PAL gamecube games)

    To be honest, I wasn't interested in this until I saw Disaster Days of Crisis and the new Taiko no Tatsujin [​IMG]
     
  9. Supa_S
    OP

    Newcomer Supa_S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Bahrain
    So I've downloaded the newest version and added it to my SD card but now I can't see it on the homebrew channel :/

    what did i do wrong?
     
  10. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Make sure it's in a sub folder of \APPS
    \APPS\geckoOS for example. The exact folder doesn't really matter, but I believe the ZIP file already will extract it to a suggested folder.
    Also make sure it's executable file is called either BOOT.ELF or BOOT.DOL
    Then it should show up in the homebrew channel
     
  11. Supa_S
    OP

    Newcomer Supa_S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Sorry man, I copied over the wrong folder. It's working now though [​IMG] thanks a lot!!
     
  12. Supa_S
    OP

    Newcomer Supa_S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Okay this is gonna be my FINAL question. I was just looking over the options and I'm not quite sure what they mean

    Force PAL 60
    Force NTSC
    Force PAL50
    VIDTV Patch
    Hook Type
    Ocarina On

    What r they exactly?
     
  13. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The 'force' options are about video modes.
    I believe the hook option only applies if you have a USB Gecko device
    Ocarina is the cheat engine
     
  14. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ocarina are code to add into you games as CHEATS, The FORCE's are forcing of an NTSC game to play on pal wii e.g. forcing pal 50, otherwise you will get fuzzy or black & white screen, the Hooks are hooks to restart wii, where you can move the disc channel when you've restarted, and optional things.
     
  15. Supa_S
    OP

    Newcomer Supa_S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Bahrain
    I've tried two games: Mario Kart Double Dash and Mario Party 5 but both of them didnt work. I only got a black screen. Oh and they're both from Australia.

    Would i need to change some of the settings? I've tried PAL50 and PAL60 but I'm still getting a black screen
     
  16. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah just play about with the force settings, can only choose 1 as you'll know, also try just launching game, all you can do it check all.
     
  17. Supa_S
    OP

    Newcomer Supa_S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Bahrain
    None of the force options worked though and I've tried launching the game w/out enabling any of the options [​IMG]
     
  18. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    do you have a modchip? If so, you can also burn gamecube discs with GCOS. That will also work as a regionfree application
     
  19. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PAL runs are 50Hz normally but NTSC is 60Hz, PAL regions tend to feature NTSC compatibility which means they can run at 60Hz too. Forcing PAL 60 (Hz) does what it means: the wii will run at PAL 60Hz regardless of what anything says.

    NTSC is a video standard used mainly in the US and Japan as far as the consoles are concerned. It forces the video mode to NTSC.

    See the PAL 60 explanation but instead replace runs at 60Hz with runs at 50 Hz regardless of what else happens.

    VIDTV patch. This is used to force the game to work using your selected video mode as far as I am aware.

    Hook type. When cheating and/or patching games you have to get your code to run somehow. The hook method is the method used to get the code to run (you can set it to run every 80 cycles, when a interrupt occurs....)

    Ocarina is a game launching app but it also functions as a cheating tool.

    edit. Much too slow.
     
  20. Supa_S
    OP

    Newcomer Supa_S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Well I've tried 5 games so far:

    Buffy Choas Bleeds - works fine
    Mario Party 5 - doesn't work at all
    Mario Kart Double Dash - doesn't work at all
    Simpsons Hit and Run - doesn't work at all
    Super Mario Sunshine - blue screen, but I can hear the game in the background 0_0

    Now I'm starting to wonder if imports like Disaster Days of Crisis and Taiko are actually going to work
     

Share This Page