1. boscocraftXD

    OP boscocraftXD Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    As the name implies, I have a total noon question. I have to upgrade my power supply. Now this wouldn't be a problem if the computer wasn't from 2007... If you need what computer I have, its an HP A6220N... With a Core 2 Quad, and 4GB of RAM. I am putting a GTX 670 in it...

    So, will the age of my computer be a problem, or can I plug any 24-pin power cable up to it with no worries?
     
  2. Pedeadstrian

    Pedeadstrian GBAtemp's Official frill-necked lizard.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3,956
    Country:
    United States
    It's more like a midnight question, but your computer will be fine. If the plug fits you're good to go, which it almost surely will.
     
  3. boscocraftXD

    OP boscocraftXD Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. That's all I needed to know.
     
  4. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,707
    Country:
    The main difference between modern PSUs and older ones are how many molex or SATA power cables it came with.
     
  5. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer
    Reporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    33,450
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As others have mentioned it is mostly connector type (there are adapters) that differs and electrically they are fine.

    Some vendors (we mostly see it with Dell but that might just be a symptom of how popular they are in some circles) will use slightly custom/odd shapes for the supply, even where it is not justified by the size. Here though it looks like you will be fine.
     
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    try not to cheap out on a replacement power supply, if it goes boom the rest of the pc will go down with it most likely
     
  7. boscocraftXD

    OP boscocraftXD Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Fortunately, my case supports most PSUs. I just wanted to make sure that the increase in power wouldn't fry my motherboard...
     
  8. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    components will only take as much power as they need, if the psu can't handle the draw it'll start damaging components. i've been out of a pc for nearly a month now because i made the mistake of upgrading too much past my psu's limit
    waiting on a replacement to know how much damage has been done, all i know is the hard drives are fine
     
  9. boscocraftXD

    OP boscocraftXD Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    I plan on upgrading from 300 to 600. my main reason is a friend recently gave me an old gtx 670, which is leagues better then my current radeon hd 5450.... But it also has a much higher power requirements (500W minimum) do you think 600 is overkill?
     
  10. Pedeadstrian

    Pedeadstrian GBAtemp's Official frill-necked lizard.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3,956
    Country:
    United States
    600w is fine, though keep in mind that you can always get a higher wattage PSU and use it in a later PC build if you are so inclined, since your computer is old.
     
  11. boscocraftXD

    OP boscocraftXD Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Old? Old is an understatement. It was a gift from my grandmother that costed me $100 to get to a reasonable level of performance so I could get off of that god forsaken 32 bit Vista OS.... <shudders>
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - question, total,