A question....

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by xXNoctisXx, Nov 9, 2008.

Nov 9, 2008

A question.... by xXNoctisXx at 12:12 PM (1,709 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. xXNoctisXx
    OP

    Newcomer xXNoctisXx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Finland
    If i scrubb a SSBB iso and burn it to a DVD-R
    can i run it on wiigator 0.3? [​IMG]
     


  2. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    Someone spoke about that on one of the threads and said he had to burn it to a dual layer disc , but it worked.I think he may have patched it after scrubbing
     
  3. kashin

    Member kashin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Scrubbing a Iso wont actually lower it's size, just when it's being compressed by something like zip, rar or uharc. it still contains thesame ammount of data, just garbage was replaced by long strings of easily compressable data. So even if you were to scrub brawl, you would still get a 8 gig file, the only way to make it small is to compress it and a compressed file wont function like the iso if you were to try to burn it, so that would fail.
     
  4. xXNoctisXx
    OP

    Newcomer xXNoctisXx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Finland
    Ok, thanks that's all the info that i need. [​IMG]
     
  5. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    Grab a copy of the dvd5 and burn it directly to disk, dont decrypt it. It will work perfectly with the exception that most of the in game videos will be the same one over and over. I'm using this version on a single layer disc and not one problem so far. (wiigators official .3beta release btw)

    if you already have a dvd9 rip search the forums there is a tutorial to concert it to fit on one disc.
     
  6. xXNoctisXx
    OP

    Newcomer xXNoctisXx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Finland
    Does the DVD 5 Version freeze?
     
  7. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    There are a few DVD5 versions out there.

    Im using the Japanese version of Brawl (DVD5) as the Japanese voices are too good!

    No crashes unless you decide to play Adventure mode.

    You dont need Adventure Mode to get all Characters and Stages.

    Loading is the same. I thought it would be faster as its on a single layer dvd, but its the same amount of time.
     
  8. stretch

    Newcomer stretch Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    Ahhhh, I want the JAP version so badly. So, did you have to do a WiiBrickBlocker and WiigionFree in that order on the ISO?
     
  9. Flawsdraw

    Member Flawsdraw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    England, Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i thought scrubbing SSBB turned it into the DVD5 version? I use the DL version but I swear when it came out after scrubbing it took it down to normal DVD size because thats how the scrubber recognised things properly?
     
  10. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States

    Not at all because im using a backup loader.

    If your on 3.2 with Starfall, then you dont have to as it blocks updates.

    If your not on 3.2, you can just use GeckoOS to force region settings. This also bypasses the update.

    Scrubbed = Makes all garbage data 00 in hex.

    Meaning it will be compressed alot more when zipped.

    Super Paper Mario, when Scrubbed, comes out to 600 MB when zipped.

    When unzipped, its back to the default 4.37 GBs.

    Decrypting discs causes the .iso to lose the garbage data all together, making the .iso smaller.
     
  11. stretch

    Newcomer stretch Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    I think kashin probably don't know what he/she is talking about.

    Nevermind [​IMG]
     
  12. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    SSBB DVD5 is an edited game. All of the Adventure videos have been removed and have been replaced by the same video.
     
  13. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    Scrubbing reduces the size and gets rid of non required content.
    Patching usually downsizes as well but in the case of SBB is makes it bigger again.
     
  14. stretch

    Newcomer stretch Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    So, you're saying that I could play a backup game that's in a different region by using the GeckoOS homebrew app instead of the Backup Launcher, and bypass updates?
     
  15. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard that nintendo can find out if you are playing scrubbed games and possibly make them not work anymore, any truth to that?
     
  16. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland

    I hear that microsoft will give me 500 euro for each person i pass a mail on to within 3 hours of getting it.
    Bill gates delivers the cash to my door himself
     
  17. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, you'll find out your true love though.

    But, it could happen or at least I think there is the potential to. I'm guessing you don't think it's plausible at all.
     
  18. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    Its not possible unless they force an update on your wii - which is illegal.
     
  19. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    I was under the assumption you were using a modchip.

    If you had a modchip, you could bypass the update by using GeckOS.

    If your using the backup loader, there is no point as it automatically launches the game without having to update.

    And you also have the option to force whatever region your Wii is.
     
  20. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lol, your worse than me djtaz, haha

    Hey, yeah its true, Nintendo will send an update immediately to your wii, and it will blow your wii up and trip your electric haha
     

Share This Page