a question with pokemon plat.

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Red11, Apr 23, 2009.

Apr 23, 2009

a question with pokemon plat. by Red11 at 4:10 PM (1,307 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Red11
    OP

    Newcomer Red11 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    hey guys i want to buy pkmn plat. but right now money is tight and i'll buy plat in about a month...
    ao i "got" plat. with my AK2 and im wondering if there ANY way for transfering my save data from my AK2 plat. to my real plat.

    is it possible? thanks

    (i tried searching but i couldn't find a good answer)
     
  2. mrfatso

    Member mrfatso That guy!!

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,932
    Location:
    @Your Home,behind the sofa
    Country:
    Singapore
    u are talking about save from a rom to cartidge... i don't think that is possible.
     
  3. dart06

    Newcomer dart06 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I know, it isn't possible, and if it were possible, you would have to have some sweet equipment to do it. I would just stick with playing the ROM. It functions the same, so why not? I bought the game card, but that was before I ordered my AK2i.
     
  4. Red11
    OP

    Newcomer Red11 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    aww damn... thanks guy i remember reading something that kinda works but not 100%

    either way thanks
     
  5. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can transfer from game to PC, then PC to flashcard... So why not the other way round?
     
  6. Rascal

    Member Rascal GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    It is possible and there are numerous tools to do this. On my DSL with an EZ Flash 3-in-1, I use Rupdolph's backup tools (check the downloads section) to backup/restore SAVs with my retail carts. The only issue with Pokemon Platinum is that most utilities only backup 256k and Platinum actually uses 512k for SAVs (1 primary and 1 backup). It's kind of a crap shoot which SAV slot you would restore to, but I've read many workarounds on other forums.

    For a lot more information on this, there is a site called "Project Pokemon" that has a thread about this in their Pokesav forums.
     
  7. Martiin

    Member Martiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    It actually is possible, with Game Shark, but it includes you buying it, and incidentally, I own one, but never really use...

    the link is here about it, GameShark

    If you want it then I can sell to you for probably 10 or bargain around the price...
     
  8. Rascal

    Member Rascal GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    I'm amazed at the responses that think it isn't possible to copy SAVs to retail carts. Over on the CycloDS official forums, this even has a tutorial associated with it since it is covered so much. Click HERE to jump there and check it out. It gets a bit technical, but serious AK2 users should be used to technical.

    This was also covered in a GBA Temp thread from late 2008. While the thread was related to Animal Crossing, it stand true for most DS games/carts.
     
  9. Martiin

    Member Martiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Just skimming through the link you provided, which was awesome, but I'm pretty sure the topic is about:
    transferring SAV files > to > single commercial rom cart
     
  10. Rascal

    Member Rascal GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    Check out my last edit. I link to another thread here at GBATemp that is closer to the OP's situation.
     
  11. Martiin

    Member Martiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so that Red 11 can understand ...
    its;
    game SAV > wifibackuptool > commerical ROM cart
     
  12. Rascal

    Member Rascal GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    And to round it out, here is the thread at Project Pokemon explaining the technical details of Platinum's dual-slot SAV and a few tricks to get around the "corrupt save date, using backup" error that sometimes happens when restoring SAVs back to the retail cart.
     
  13. mrfatso

    Member mrfatso That guy!!

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,932
    Location:
    @Your Home,behind the sofa
    Country:
    Singapore
    cool, i learn something new every day ;D
     
  14. Red11
    OP

    Newcomer Red11 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    wow thanks, my bad for bumping a old thread, been busy

    imma try it out once i get me plat.
     
  15. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines

Share This Page