A little problem about 3DS's region lockout...

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Wym92, Nov 30, 2012.

Nov 30, 2012
  1. Wym92
    OP

    Newcomer Wym92 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Beijing
    Country:
    China
    I just learned that the 3DS XL which is sold in China (which is called iQue 3DS XL) can play the The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D cartridge from Taiwan. As we all know, 3DS and 3DS XL has region lockout, China and Taiwan belong to different regions. Besides, now exists 4 Taiwan 3DS games, but only Ocarina of Time 3D can run at iQue 3DS XL. What's your opinion?
     


  2. McHaggis

    Member McHaggis Fackin' Troller

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,656
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Taiwanese OoT 3D could be region free.
     
  3. lokomelo

    Member lokomelo Edson Arantes do Nascimento

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    São Paulo
    Country:
    Brazil
    the regular iQue 3DS (not the XL) can run this game?
     
  4. Wym92
    OP

    Newcomer Wym92 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Beijing
    Country:
    China
    iQue didn't had 3DS, they only sell 3DS XL.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Regions are not automatic, they're an imagined construct with limits purposely set up.

    It's likely that, yes, in this case the limits were not set up. Whether it's just the game or whether it's how the 3DS is set up, dunno'.
     
  6. 3DSGuy

    Member 3DSGuy No longer in scene

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United States
    As I said on 3DBrew, there are many factors which could cause this. But with this extra information, chances are the demo is region free.
     
  7. Wym92
    OP

    Newcomer Wym92 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Beijing
    Country:
    China
    Just get news from one of my friends... the Taiwanese Ocarina of Time 3D cannot be played on a Japanese 3DS, the icon in Home Menu doesn't appear.
     
  8. 3DSGuy

    Member 3DSGuy No longer in scene

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United States
    Was it the same demo, and by that I mean, the same physical cartridge, not another copy of the demo?
     
  9. Wym92
    OP

    Newcomer Wym92 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Beijing
    Country:
    China
    Yeah, two demos are the same.
     
  10. 3DSGuy

    Member 3DSGuy No longer in scene

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United States
    So the demos used are two separate copies of the same demo
     
  11. OldClassicGamer

    Member OldClassicGamer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    Japan
    So it could work on PAL 3DS???
     
  12. Wym92
    OP

    Newcomer Wym92 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Beijing
    Country:
    China
    I mean that the cartridge played at iQue 3DS XL and Japanese 3DS is the same... or the same the same physical cartridge.
     
  13. McHaggis

    Member McHaggis Fackin' Troller

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,656
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, yes that was the idea. Each game would have a value in its header indicating the region, if the value at that offset were 0, the game would probably boot on any region console. The additional information given since I posted seems contrary to this theory, however.
     
  14. OldClassicGamer

    Member OldClassicGamer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    Japan
    Yeah, 3DS is not locked. Cartridges are. Can someone buy Taiwan 3DS game and check it on EU or US 3DS?
     
  15. 3DSGuy

    Member 3DSGuy No longer in scene

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United States
    Does the same physical cartridge work on a Taiwan 3DS?
     
  16. Wym92
    OP

    Newcomer Wym92 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Beijing
    Country:
    China
    Yes~
     
  17. 3DSGuy

    Member 3DSGuy No longer in scene

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United States
    So the same physical cartridge which contained the demo was:
    1/ tried in a Taiwanese and worked,
    2/ tried in a Chinese 3DS and worked,
    3/ tried in a Japanese 3DS and didn't work

    No other Taiwanese games will work on Chinese 3DS.

    If what I've written above is correct, then I can not explain why it happened.
     
  18. Wym92
    OP

    Newcomer Wym92 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Beijing
    Country:
    China
    :O Maybe the cartridge contain both Taiwanese ROM and Chinese ROM, could this happen?
     
  19. elisherer

    Member elisherer I ♥ 3DS

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    778
    Location:
    3dbrew.org
    Country:
    Israel
    A region mask could be possible.

    Meaning that RF is not the only option.
     
  20. Wym92
    OP

    Newcomer Wym92 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Beijing
    Country:
    China
    Will you explain to me what the "region mask" and the "RF" is? I can't find them on 3dbrew.
     

Share This Page