50% CPU usage with no programs open... whats wrong here?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Aijelsop, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Why?

    What I've done today:
    Played Minecraft, got some new plugins for my server, went on GBAtemp, opened Steam, played Garrys Mod, downloaded and installed a free game from the Steam store, played that for about an hr, about to play minecraft again, and noticed this.

    virus scanning now
     
  2. AceWarhead

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Try defragging.
     
  3. Deathwing Zero

    Member Deathwing Zero GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    Can-uh-duh
    Country:
    Canada
    Click "Show Processes from All Users", sort the Process list by the CPU category, find out what process is using so much CPU power.
     
  4. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    It stopped, but I was confused. I restarted my computer too... It was steam, cpu 04.
     
  5. Deathwing Zero

    Member Deathwing Zero GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    Can-uh-duh
    Country:
    Canada
    04 is 4% not 50. The number displayed is the percentage of CPUs total processing power being used (0.5% is displayed as 1% so it's not always going to be 1%). When you find the process you can google the name. There's a number of factors that can play into what was using so much though. If it does it again, check what I posted earlier.
     
  6. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I'm the only user currently logged in.
     
  7. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,883
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You could try to revert to the old windows 7 theme.
    And maybe disable some startup processes or stop unnecessary processes.
     
  8. Deathwing Zero

    Member Deathwing Zero GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    Can-uh-duh
    Country:
    Canada
    Doesn't make a difference. Look at the picture you posted. It says 66 processes. There is not 66 processes shown in that list, even if you scroll all the way down. That's because windows hides certain processes and because not every process executed is executed by the same (or any) user on a computer. Hence why I said "Show all Processes".

    For example: In the picture you posted; 'nvvsvc.exe' has no user name attached to it. While others have your user name attached. There are also ones with the name 'SYSTEM' which won't show unless show all processes is enabled. If one of the system processes is acting like this it could indicate something is wrong.

    Just because you're the only one logged in, doesn't mean there's nothin else goin on.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. Saken

    Member Saken GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Country:
    Australia
    inb4malware
     

Share This Page