3G Question

Discussion in 'PS Vita - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by SFenton, Feb 29, 2012.

Feb 29, 2012

3G Question by SFenton at 8:14 PM (3,530 Views / 0 Likes) 45 replies

  1. SFenton
    OP

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not really into 3G or smartphones, but I'm probably going to pick up a 3G Vita since I have the extra money and if there's any cool functionality that's added to the 3G device down the line, I'd like to have it. My question is, when I buy this unit, if, for whatever reason, Sony decides to get another partner for 3G like Verizon, will I be able to use that? Or is this Vita forever locked to AT&T (presumably like an iPhone)?

    Sorry, just don't know too much about this stuff.
     


  2. 431unknown

    Member 431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
    Doubtful as I don't think the 3G model supports CDMA which is what Verison uses.
     
  3. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Currently there's no killerapp for 3G on the Vita, all you can do is upload scores and do social network stuff.
     
  4. masterchan777

    Member masterchan777 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    World Wide Web
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have the 3G Vita and I don't think there will EVER be a 3G killer app
     
  5. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    There hasn't been a killer 3G app as been pointed out by everyone so far and I assume when there will be if there will be any that it'll just be for social media or something.
     
  6. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    The answer is as 431 says, the 3G module uses AT&T's GSM technology, which is completely incompatible with Verizon and Sprint, although there may be a chance for T-Mobile if it supports the right frequencies and gets unlocked from AT&T (via hacking it).
     
  7. SFenton
    OP

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the responses guys. I'm aware that there isn't a killer app yet, and that there's the possibility that there never will be. Just kinda holding out for some way of internet on long bus rides- I'm still stuck with a dumbphone right now but don't really have a need to upgrade it.
     
  8. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    The 3G is kinda crap, anyway.
    You only have about 20MB caps (is this per day, or per connection?) so you'd be spending more time near a wifi spot.
     
  9. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    I think its per day but it doesn't change that the 3G is pretty crap. I only bought the Wifi version and just spend time in my shopping centre Wifi hotspot.
     
  10. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You know, get a GAME instead of the 3G version! Like buy the Wifi only version with whatever game you like! :D
     
  11. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wrong.
    You can only download something from PSN if it's 20MB or less.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. SFenton
    OP

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    I'll still have money for two games and a carrying case with the 3G version, and Rayman and Uncharted sound like enough for a while. ;)
     
  13. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Get ninja gaiden sigma, marvel s capcom or dynasty warriors instead of 3g :3

    Also uncharted is great :D
     
  14. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    3G bundle does come with a 8GB memory card, which more or less makes it worth it even if you don't use the 3G, plus it gives you the option in the future to use it if something interesting DOES come of it, whereas if you get the wifi version you'll never be able to "upgrade" your vita to it.

    Choice is still yours and yours alone.
     
  15. SFenton
    OP

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    Heh, I know. I appreciate everyone's input though. :)
     
  16. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    But with multi player you already have Wifi and Ad hoc and I don't think having 3G as well is going to make much of a difference let alone the need to spend an extra $100 plus as another user pointed out with 3G the download limited of 20MB or less on PSN. For that $100 you can get a 32GB Vita memory card or 2 Vita games.
     
  17. SFenton
    OP

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    Er, the Wi-Fi only model is $250. The 3G is $300, and it comes with an 8 GB card, so it's technically only $20 extra for the 3G functionality (because I would buy an 8 GB card with the system anyways). :P
     
  18. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorry I was referring to the prices in Australia which is by the way bloody horrible but back to the point I imported and it was $100 extra for the 3G version and I didn't see a need for a function that can still work with a Wifi connection at a Wifi hotspot.
     
  19. SFenton
    OP

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    My bad, I didn't pay attention and see your flag in the sidebar.
     
  20. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    Thats okay dude, people in NA are lucky seeing everything is cheaper than here in Australia plus the stores don't over charge you for games, consoles and pretty much everything.
     

Share This Page