Homebrew 3ds randomly black screens

Kris_CL

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2020
Messages
114
Trophies
0
Location
your mom's
XP
221
Country
Chile
Sometimes my 3ds just black screens out of nowhere, this mostly happens when changing scenes in a game or going into sleep mode, the leds are still on so it isn't shutting off, is there anyway to fix this?


Edit in literally less than a minute after last black screen: This happens way to often, i literally opened settings waited.. and nothing, wanted to uninstall checkpoint because i remember that the last time this ever happened to me was after installing it (doubt that's actually the reason)
 
Last edited by Kris_CL,

Kris_CL

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2020
Messages
114
Trophies
0
Location
your mom's
XP
221
Country
Chile
You can try to do a clean CTR NAND transfer, if that doesn't solve your problem might be a hardware issue.
i sent my 3ds to get hacked so idk what a ctr nand transfer is (reason for hacking my wii u on my own), also this started this year so i don't think it's a hardware issue
 

fmkid

Just another GBATemp's random guy
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
1,914
Trophies
0
XP
1,397
Country
Colombia
https://3ds.hacks.guide/ctrtransfer.html

You can try this to go to a clean NAND, just keep in mind you will lose what you have installed on the NAND, If this doesn't solve your issue of it randomly going to black screen, it might just be hardware problem.
Maybe it will be good to think first on a faulty/damaged/corrupted SD card than on a (CTR)NAND problem.

And, afaik, CTRTransfer normally doesn't delete any actual installed content (mainly because the major part of that content is installed on the SD card, except DSiWare and System titles)
 

Kris_CL

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2020
Messages
114
Trophies
0
Location
your mom's
XP
221
Country
Chile
https://3ds.hacks.guide/ctrtransfer.html

You can try this to go to a clean NAND, just keep in mind you will lose what you have installed on the NAND, If this doesn't solve your issue of it randomly going to black screen, it might just be hardware problem.
damn, i have a lot of games on my 3ds so having to re-install everything will be bad, not to mention restoring the save data, i guess there isn't any other way to fix it

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Maybe it will be good to think first on a faulty/damaged/corrupted SD card than on a (CTR)NAND problem.

And, afaik, CTRTransfer normally doesn't delete any actual installed content (mainly because the major part of that content is installed on the SD card, except DSiWare and System titles)
i'll try to do it then, also i'll try to connect the sd card to my pc to see if it works
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,258
Trophies
1
XP
13,922
Country
United States
damn, i have a lot of games on my 3ds so having to re-install everything will be bad, not to mention restoring the save data, i guess there isn't any other way to fix it
If you have a backup nand, you might be able to restore it instead. You'll only lose games you installed since then. That's assuming it wasn't always that way. Could also be an sd card problem.
 

Kris_CL

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2020
Messages
114
Trophies
0
Location
your mom's
XP
221
Country
Chile
i'll try to do it then, also i'll try to connect the sd card to my pc to see if it works
So, i took the sd card out and back in and everything is smoother,before it took ages to close a game, now it's the normal time
i changed scenes in a game, went into sleep mode and changed games and no black screen yet so i guess that fixed it huh
 

fmkid

Just another GBATemp's random guy
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
1,914
Trophies
0
XP
1,397
Country
Colombia
i'll try to do it then, also i'll try to connect the sd card to my pc to see if it works
Use quadruple format (to give to your SD card an appropiate re-format) and H2TestW (to analyze it and discard errors). But before that, try to make a backup of all your SD content.

Also, to see if the problem is with the SD card or not, use temporaly another SD (on FAT32 format, 32kB cluster size, MBR, primary partition) with merely the boot.firm file from Luma CFW (latest version) on root and try to replicate same situations that come on errors
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kris_CL

Kris_CL

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2020
Messages
114
Trophies
0
Location
your mom's
XP
221
Country
Chile
Use quadruple format (to give to your SD card an appropiate re-format) and H2TestW (to analyze it and discard errors). But before that, try to make a backup of all your SD content.

Also, to see if the problem is with the SD card or not, use temporaly another SD (on FAT32 format, 32kB cluster size, MBR, primary partition) with merely the boot.firm file from Luma CFW (latest version) on root and try to replicate same situations that come on errors
Thanks, i'll do this if it ever happens again
 
  • Like
Reactions: fmkid
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Who