3DS menu on crack?

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by MADKATZ99, Apr 24, 2011.

Apr 24, 2011

3DS menu on crack? by MADKATZ99 at 2:05 AM (2,429 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    Yesterday when I turned on my 3DS the spinning menu icons were spinning at least 3 times faster. So I turned it off and back on but it didn't help the problem. Games still ran at normal speed, but every time I went back to he home menu it was spinning like mad. It eventually fixed itself, but in the same day I'd try turning it on and nothing would come up on the screen, it took a few restarts before it worked. The softwares a joke.

    Is this a common problem? I took a video but it's a bit hard to see.
     
  2. GreatZimkogway

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    It's normal. If the microphone is picking up stuff, the icons will spin according to the level the microphone picks up. I noticed it while in a car.
     
  3. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    If you blow into the mic, the icons will spin faster and faster. It's an "easter egg" that Nintendo put in. (A very badly hidden one, though.)

    Also, vibrations like cars and crowds automatically pick up as REALLY loud.
     
  4. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    I corrected what you said.
     
  5. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    LOL! I'm really stupid for not noticing that. Thanks! I'm half asleep. [​IMG]
     
  6. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    I thought somwthing was wrong with my 3DS too, until I realized that it was the microphone, can get a little annoying.
     
  7. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh that's alright then, I had no idea it did that. And yeah, I did notice it in the car lol.
     
  8. Ferociouscorpion

    Newcomer Ferociouscorpion Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Hahaha that exact thing happened to me in the car yesterday.

    I thought something was wrong with me 3DS.
     
  9. UniqueGeek

    Member UniqueGeek PMD Researcher

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,336
    Country:
    United States
    I thought it was because of the accelerometer.
     
  10. justmike

    Member justmike GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    Australia
    This actually crashed my 3DS one time at the train station. I left it on while the icons were going crazy and 2 minutes later just crashed.

    Funny thing is, after I updated it crashed a lot, black screens, game crashes, menu freezing and now all of a sudden haven't had a crash for a long time.

    Interesting.
     
  11. funem

    Member funem Retro Powered..

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,160
    Location:
    out of nowhere....
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have seen it in a quiet room, it seems to happen when you take the 3DS out of standby and you have a streetpass or spotpass hit. It goes mad, not always though.
     
  12. tinymonkeyt

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone else experience like.. a blank icon menu?

    When I turned on mine the other day, the icons (3DS Camera, AR Games, etc.) were all missing.. Like I could scroll through but couldn't really go into anything.. And then I removed my game card (Mario Kart DS) and then reinserted and the icons popped up again..
     
  13. Dead End

    Member Dead End GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Rockford IL.
    Country:
    United States
    I had a glitch were I put in Pilot Wings in after playing a DS Game..
    The Game's Icon (Bottom screen) Was glitched up, and it was using the DS Card Border...

    Only happened one time..
     
  14. dropper

    dropper Newbie

Share This Page