3DS Flashcard with 2 memory chips?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by YoshiInAVoid, Aug 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Aug 9, 2012
  1. YoshiInAVoid
    OP

    Member YoshiInAVoid GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    560
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have an idea for a 3DS flashcard based on Crown 3DS, GBA Exploder and EZ Flash 3-In-1.

    Similar to if you were using a DS Lite with a normal DS mode Slot 1 flashcard and an EZ Flash 3-In-1 in Slot 2 where you would have been able to choose ROMs through the Slot 1 running GBA Exploder and when you selected a GBA ROM in NOR mode it would have written the GBA ROM to the EZ Flash where it would make a 1:1 copy of a GBA Card and you could run it though the normal DS firmware.

    The card will have a switch on top of it, when the switch is on one way it will use the first memory chip and when the switch is flicked it will use the second memory chip.

    On the first memory chip is a regular DS mode flashcard however, when you are in this mode if you select a 3DS ROM it will write it to the second memory chip inside the flashcard.

    When you flick the switch to use the other memory chip which has the 3DS ROM on it, it will act like a 1:1 copy of a 3DS card, just like Crown 3DS would do however you can change the ROM directly on the 3DS without a computer by switching back into the DS mode part of the flashcard.


    Do you think this could work? It would be quite expensive and might even need to stick out a bit like the early Action Replays but it might work.
     
    2 people like this.
  2. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    - already proposed many time
    - read the hacking theories thread
    - post things like this there

    - under the assumption of 1:1 3ds flash cards it would work
    - which does not hold atm
     
  3. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For such an idea, it would probably be better to have the switch on the side of the cartridge, requiring removal to switch between supposed 3DS and DS modes.
    Trying to perform a switch between the two modes whilst still loaded in the 3DS might cause it to throw a tantrum.

    But being able to reflash the 3DS chip to handle a new ROM and save-data via the DS mode with a dedicated 3DS game manager...if it happens that would be fantastic!
    3DS and DS games support! Convenient switching of 3DS games without the use of a PC! (Assuming the necessity of running a flashed 3DS at a time)
     
  4. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    If you use tri state logic you can probably leave the card in.
    Putting all connections to Hi-Z for a short time should make the 3DS think that it was removed.

    Switching to 3DS mode automatic on exiting selection menu (finished write or quiting via some menu function)
    Switching to menu mode via physical button on cartridge.
    Default selectable
     
  5. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In that case, a switch on the top would be better as you could also add a nub to the end of the switch, similar to the power-switch of the original Gameboy that prevented Gameboy Color only titles from being able to run.

    [​IMG]

    A similar switch could be used to prevent putting the flashcart in a DSi or DS Lite, when switched to 3DS mode.
     
  6. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,771
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    The thing that sucks about making a 1:1 3DS flash card? There are some games were made differently than others, meaning you'd have to somehow accommodate every single one, making the card either impractically long or ridiculously fat.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    ^ - Which is probably one of the main issues Crown3DS ran into.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Kikirini

    Member Kikirini Zelda Fangirl

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,008
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Sure, it'd be nice if that could be done... but the 3DS probably won't be cracked for a while. I suppose you should save this idea for when that happens.
     
  9. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/307018-awesome-3ds-hacking-theories/
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page