3DS browser question, Playing video's/ flash

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Chrisssj2, Sep 18, 2012.

Sep 18, 2012
  1. Chrisssj2
    OP

    Member Chrisssj2 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,065
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I know OFFICIALLY it cannot be done.. (fuck nintendo!)

    But since im getting a SuperCardDSTwo card. Im wondering could it be done with that?
     


  2. RodrigoDavy

    Member RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
  3. KazoWAR

    Member KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,747
    Location:
    Winter Haven
    Country:
    United States
    Nintendo really needs to make a youtube app
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The DSTwo cannot interact with the 3DS's extra power and features, it can only run games in DS-mode. It cannot modify or gain access to anything that's 3DS-specific, including the extra features in the 3DS menus (such as the browser).
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. GamerzHell9137

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Skype app too
     
  6. Technicmaster0

    Member Technicmaster0 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,865
    Country:
    Germany
    But the youtube app is more important.
     
  7. GamerzHell9137

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Skype is for me.

    Id rather stay in contact with my parents,friends,sister then watch youtube on go.
     
  8. lokomelo

    Member lokomelo Edson Arantes do Nascimento

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    São Paulo
    Country:
    Brazil
    You cant watch youtube videos using Flash or HTML5. Forget anything about flash on current portable gaming devices, it will not happen. Now about HTML5, there is a hope IF nintendo release it. I dont see how this can be done with homebrew software.

    off topic x 2

    skype has nothing to do with the subject
     
  9. Chrisssj2
    OP

    Member Chrisssj2 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,065
    Country:
    Netherlands
    In other words. FUCKED.

    :( damn why have a browser if one of the LARGEST site's won't work with it like youtube... also many mmo's web browsers require flash.. + I cant watch porn on it lollol haha no but seriously nintendo needs to get their head out of their ass. I cant see why company's are so goddamn retarded sometimes.
     
  10. RodrigoDavy

    Member RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
    There are many reasons. Flash is poorly supported by adobe, it has many security issues, many bugs, but mostly it's consumes much of the cpu power, which means it would drain the already short 3DS battery time. Even Adobe has quitted support for flash in Android devices. The only realistic hope for the 3ds is html5, but I wouldn't get my hopes up on that happening =/
     
  11. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Fixed that for you. There is no such thing as Mobile Flash - it has been discontinued. Heck, development of desktop Flash pretty much halted as well. It's obsolete technology.

    As for the so-called "high demand for CPU power", I've seen Mobile Flash ported to the *DS*, admittedly without sound, but working. The 3DS would have no problem running it, thing is, it's no longer "sold" by Adobe or anyone else.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What, flash 7? That's the last version that source and SDK tools were available for. When Adobe bought it they stopped that.

    And flash7 is from 2003, it stopped being able to run modern things years ago. Pretty much everything flash now requires at least 9, if not 10 or 11, and those have much higher requirements.
     
  13. LockeCole_101629

    Member LockeCole_101629 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    New Zealand
    9 it is.
    that's the xpud come in handy.
    but still gives warning about "upgrade your flash"

    back to subject, well while flash probably too heavy for mobile devices, I do agree for skype at least, or anything (even their own software which connected to others system)

    I mean... come on. There's wifi, 2 camera back and front, but no communication feature available?

    3G was launched prior for Video call I believe, and that was long long time ago.
     
  14. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    Skype was bought a while ago by microsoft.
    So the chances of seeing skype on the 3DS is probably realy small.
     
  15. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Notice the console in question, which is the DS. Flash "9, 10 or 11" would still run perfectly fine on a 3DS.

    *Cough Cough* Skype on Sony platforms? ;)

    The bigger problem here is that the 3DS doesn't support headsets, which is a bummer since you wouldn't be able to put the console in your pocket while chatting - you'd have to use the built-in microphone, making Skype at the very least "uncomfortable".
     
  16. narutopet112

    Member narutopet112 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Iv seen 3ds headsets on my local game store.
     
  17. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    "Headset" implies a built-in microphone, otherwise they're just headphones. The 3DS has no microphone jack, no serial port to speak of and the jack port that's there doesn't support external microphones as far as I know. Sorry, no "headsets", and if someone markets them as such, he or she should be ashamed of themselves.
     
  18. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    The 3DS does support headsets for Heroes of Ruin. It connects through the headphone port.
     
  19. AceWarhead

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Really? My headset has only one cord, and when I blow on the microphone, it works on the 3DS.
     
  20. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Interesting. I'll have to review the specs sheet again, I was convinced that the port doesn't support 4-part jacks (ones that do allow a microphone). Apparently I have to stand corrected.

    In that case, there's no reason *not* to have voice chat on the system.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page