[3DS] Blue Light Flash - Doesn't boot with SD Card

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by kappanhoz, Mar 30, 2017.

  1. kappanhoz
    OP

    kappanhoz Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Mar 29, 2017
    Hello,

    First of all, i am kinda new to CFW and 3DS hacking stuff.
    So, basically i've installed CFW (arm9loader + Luma3DS) 2 months ago on my 3DS XL (OLD). Everything was running perfectly until 1 week ago...

    When i picked my 3DS and tried to play with it, after pressing the "POWER" button it just kept giving me a blue light flash (~1 Hz) everytime that i tried to boot it. I opened it and disconnected/connected everything again thinking it could be some cable problem, and after reassembling it back, it went normal again.

    1 day after, the same problem occurred, and i found that the problem was being caused by the SD Card.
    So, this problem happens to me almost everytime i boot my 3DS, and what i do is: I take of my SD card, put it back in, and it works fine again, just by the move of "TAKING OUT/PUTTING IN" the SD Card again while 3DS's off... Without the SD Card it boots fine, just without the CFW stuff ofc.

    What do you guys think its causing this issue? Shall i transfer my data to another SD Card? Could i simply backup my SD Card files, format it, and replace all my backup again? Or is there any other "engineering" method to backup CFW SD Cards? I am kinda new to this, so i might not know the correct procedures in this case.

    Thank you very much guys.
     
  2. MadMageKefka

    MadMageKefka GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,445
    1,210
    Apr 28, 2016
    United States
    World of ruin
    The blue light flash typically means that the 3ds can't find the arm9loaderhax.bin file on the sd. Step one, I'd suggest checking the card to make sure its not bad / corrupted / whatever. Try another sd and see if that works. You should have your answer by then.
     
  3. kappanhoz
    OP

    kappanhoz Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Mar 29, 2017

    Hello, here is how my SD Card root looks like. At least i can see that arm9loader.hax is there, right?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by kappanhoz, Mar 30, 2017
  4. MadMageKefka

    MadMageKefka GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,445
    1,210
    Apr 28, 2016
    United States
    World of ruin
    Looks fine. Do u have another sd you can test?

    Edit: Its also worth noting you have a bunch of extra files that you dont need any more, but that has nothing to do with your 3ds not booting.
     
    Last edited by MadMageKefka, Mar 30, 2017
  5. kappanhoz
    OP

    kappanhoz Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Mar 29, 2017
    Yes, i do, but it's only 4GB. Would it be enought? My SD Card is currently using 10 GB (But i got games in it).
     
  6. MadMageKefka

    MadMageKefka GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,445
    1,210
    Apr 28, 2016
    United States
    World of ruin
    Just copy over the 3ds folder, luma folder, and arm9loaderhax.bin. That should be all you need to test it. Worry about the rest later, if this ends up being your problem. You dont even really need the 3ds folder, thats just for homebrew.
     
  7. kappanhoz
    OP

    kappanhoz Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Mar 29, 2017
    Oh, i see. So should my 3ds sd card root be like this?

    upload_2017-3-30_0-41-20.png

    upload_2017-3-30_0-41-46.png
     
  8. wyll001

    wyll001 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    119
    4
    Aug 9, 2014
    Brazil
    This happens with me quite often, try cleaning your SD Card's contacts, if that won't work take it out for an hour or so and let it and the 3DS sit down on your bedroom undisturbed for one or two hours and try again, that works for me at least, don't ask, it just do
     
  9. MadMageKefka

    MadMageKefka GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,445
    1,210
    Apr 28, 2016
    United States
    World of ruin
    Yea, that's fine. You just wanna see if the system will boot. You only need the luma folder and the arm9loaderhax.bin for that.
     
  10. kappanhoz
    OP

    kappanhoz Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Mar 29, 2017
    Yes, it boots, but i don't see anything about CFW (No FBI, no Homebrew, no Luma3DS updater etc...). Is it supposed to be like that?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Yea, this is so strange. I've tried to clear the contacts. Will leave my 3ds without sd card today's night then..
     
  11. MadMageKefka

    MadMageKefka GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,445
    1,210
    Apr 28, 2016
    United States
    World of ruin
    Yes, thats normal since you didnt copy over a lot of files. Sounds like your 10gb sd card has problems. Backup, format, and restore. If that doesnt work you will need a new sd.

    Edit: format the sd, NOT the 3ds. Just to be clear.
     
    Last edited by MadMageKefka, Mar 30, 2017
  12. kappanhoz
    OP

    kappanhoz Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Mar 29, 2017
    Ok, so could i just simply copy/paste files all over to my sd card? Or is there any other specific backup?
     
  13. MadMageKefka

    MadMageKefka GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,445
    1,210
    Apr 28, 2016
    United States
    World of ruin
    No special method, no. Just drag and drop.
     
  14. kappanhoz
    OP

    kappanhoz Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Mar 29, 2017
    Alright, i will do that then.

    Thanks :)
     
  15. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Undeclared Shitposter 2.1

    Member
    5,702
    2,108
    Jan 11, 2016
    Japan
    日本
    It could be corrupted run a test with h2wt or w/e it's called
     
  16. Asia81

    Asia81 In my Ecchi World <3

    Member
    4,950
    2,432
    Nov 15, 2014
    France
    Albi
  17. PewnyPL

    PewnyPL GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    586
    250
    Feb 2, 2014
    Poland
    No, that won't work. If the homemenu extdata was corrupted then he would get an error. Flashing for a secon blue light means a9lh can't find the payload.