Hacking 2ds gateway help

rockthetemp123

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 23, 2014
Messages
58
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
110
Country
So I have a 2ds on 9.2 which I didn't update on purpose

I really need some help as most people are talking about the 3ds, I want to know will I be able to use the gateway to play backups fine on my 2ds and how is it achieved on 2ds?

are there any differences and will there be another exploit that doesn't require the internet as I will mainly play during school
 

Livin in a box

Livin' in a cardboard box
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
1,794
Trophies
0
Location
Purgatory
XP
572
Country
It is exactly the same on 2DS, except you won't be able to downgrade it because it isn't supported yet. We don't know if there will be another exploit, but it is unlikely.

If you're not in a WiFi zone, then just keep the 2DS in sleep mode when you're not using it so it's still in Gateway mode when you go to use it.
 

andre104623

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
679
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Philadelphia, PA
XP
356
Country
United States
It is exactly the same on 2DS, except you won't be able to downgrade it because it isn't supported yet. We don't know if there will be another exploit, but it is unlikely.

If you're not in a WiFi zone, then just keep the 2DS in sleep mode when you're not using it so it's still in Gateway mode when you go to use it.
There is another exploit but its going to be for the new 3ds's. It's in the Mii maker QR code scan. Gateway is having problems when triggering the exploit it breaks the Mii there trying to fix it. Once they do I heard it will be much better then the browser exploit because you won't need Wifi all the time. SonyUSA said it would only need to be installed once so that leaves me to think that once installed just turn on the 3ds and insert the red card and your good to go.
 

Livin in a box

Livin' in a cardboard box
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
1,794
Trophies
0
Location
Purgatory
XP
572
Country
There is another exploit but its going to be for the new 3ds's. It's in the Mii maker QR code scan. Gateway is having problems when triggering the exploit it breaks the Mii there trying to fix it
Yes, I'm aware of the Mii Maker exploit but we don't know if this is going to be compatible with the 2DS at all. We'll just have to wait and see, hopefully it shan't be too long until more information comes out about it.
 

andre104623

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
679
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Philadelphia, PA
XP
356
Country
United States
Yes, I'm aware of the Mii Maker exploit but we don't know if this is going to be compatible with the 2DS at all. We'll just have to wait and see, hopefully it shan't be too long until more information comes out about it.
It will be compatible with all 3ds's and 2ds the only reason they released the browser exploit is because it was done already and the N3ds could use it if it didn't tell you to update first
 

Livin in a box

Livin' in a cardboard box
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
1,794
Trophies
0
Location
Purgatory
XP
572
Country
It will be compatible with all 3ds's and 2ds the only reason they released the browser exploit is because it was done already and the N3ds could use it if it didn't tell you to update first
My New 3DSXL is on 9.0 and the browser doesn't ask me to update, I don't think that's the reason Gateway haven't released anything for it yet.
 

Livin in a box

Livin' in a cardboard box
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
1,794
Trophies
0
Location
Purgatory
XP
572
Country
Well everyone on maxconsole said thats the reason you can't use the browser with out being on the newest firmware
Everyone on Maxconsole aren't Gateway. I had heard that the New 3DS uses a whole new browser altogether, which I am not sure about, but there are plenty of rumours out there.

This isn't helping OP though, who is more concerned about their 2DS.
 

andre104623

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
679
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Philadelphia, PA
XP
356
Country
United States
Everyone on Maxconsole aren't Gateway. I had heard that the New 3DS uses a whole new browser altogether, which I am not sure about, but there are plenty of rumours out there.

This isn't helping OP though, who is more concerned about their 2DS.
He could use the andriod app. That doesn't need wifi right? I haven't used it yet
 

Huntereb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Messages
3,235
Trophies
0
Website
lewd.pics
XP
2,444
Country
United States
It should also be mentioned to the OP that Gateway 3.0 does not currently work properly on the 2DS. You'll have a very bad time playing any games unless you install them as CIA's.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jscjml

andre104623

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
679
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Philadelphia, PA
XP
356
Country
United States
It should also be mentioned to the OP that Gateway 3.0 does not currently work properly on the 2DS. You'll have a very bad time playing any games unless you install them as CIA's.
I thought it was working fine with the 2ds. I can't confirm since I don't have one as far as knew the only thing not working was downgrading
 

Nollog

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
2,964
Trophies
0
XP
1,327
Country
Ireland
He could use the andriod app. That doesn't need wifi right? I haven't used it yet

the android app uses wifi, it just allows you to control whether your 3ds can connect to the internet or not, my advice is to not allow it access to the internet.
You do that by turning off your 3g/4g/whatever, and wifi too if your phone can still connect to a wireless access point even though it's in hotspot mode.
 

Huntereb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Messages
3,235
Trophies
0
Website
lewd.pics
XP
2,444
Country
United States
I haven't had any problems with the 2ds so far

It's pretty random. Give it a few resets and try a few other games, and it eventually dies. I've been able to run Mario Kart 7 flawlessly for like an hour, then I switched games and it crashed. Haven't really been able to run any other games on it, besides Mario Kart.
 

andre104623

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
679
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Philadelphia, PA
XP
356
Country
United States
It's pretty random. Give it a few resets and try a few other games, and it eventually dies. I've been able to run Mario Kart 7 flawlessly for like an hour, then I switched games and it crashed. Haven't really been able to run any other games on it, besides Mario Kart.
Sorry to hear that man. I also have a 4.4 3ds and 8.1J N3ds that I'm still waiting for some kind of support I wouldn't care if it was 1 rom per SD again I wish they would release something for it.
 

Huntereb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Messages
3,235
Trophies
0
Website
lewd.pics
XP
2,444
Country
United States
Sorry to hear that man. I also have a 4.4 3ds and 8.1J N3ds that I'm still waiting for some kind of support I wouldn't care if it was 1 rom per SD again I wish they would release something for it.

It'll use a slightly different set of instructions in the launcher and exploit, since the "New" 3DS uses a different browser than older consoles. We'll see how well it plays out.

Hopefully not as bad as the 2DS is handling it. :P
 

andre104623

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
679
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Philadelphia, PA
XP
356
Country
United States
It'll use a slightly different set of instructions in the launcher and exploit, since the "New" 3DS uses a different browser than older consoles. We'll see how well it plays out.

Hopefully not as bad as the 2DS is handling it. :P
From what I heard it's not just N3ds but all 3ds/2ds/N3ds will be able to use the Mii exploit once fixed. Also sonyusa said she only had to install the payload once then didn't have to do it anymore. We will see what happens in due time hopefully with in a week or two
 

Huntereb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Messages
3,235
Trophies
0
Website
lewd.pics
XP
2,444
Country
United States
From what I heard it's not just N3ds but all 3ds/2ds/N3ds will be able to use the Mii exploit once fixed. Also sonyusa said she only had to install the payload once then didn't have to do it anymore

They're actually going to use an exploit that doesn't require internet every use? I didn't hear about them looking into that, but it sure would be a lot nicer than the garbage we have now.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight: Nintendo Ninjas :ninja: