1st Wii Modchip

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Kuik, Jan 26, 2007.

Jan 26, 2007

1st Wii Modchip by Kuik at 2:05 PM (53,822 Views / 0 Likes) 174 replies

  1. DirtyH

    Newcomer DirtyH Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Germany
    because the pictures at that onlineshop have that adress as watermark

    [​IMG]
     


  2. DirtyH

    Newcomer DirtyH Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Germany
    funny

    did a whois lookup for that adress

    registered to:

    NinjaDS inc.
    Luisa Ramos Medina,26
    San Andres - Arucas
    las palmas de g.c., las palmas de g.c. 35413
    ES

    is NinjaDS really from Spain?

    all in all, looks promising [​IMG]
     
  3. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,739
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    The reason why the chip has pins (in case this isn't fake) is that it's just a standard PIC microcontroller (they have pins). Buying a bunch of programmable microchips and then programming them is much cheaper and faster than trying to manufacture your own dedicated chip.
     
  4. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,238
    I talked to the NinjaDS team, with which I have good and friendly contacts, and they claim it is real. They will show me a demo of the modchip being used on a Wii, via webcam.

    We *should* also receive a sample of the Wii modchip soon, it'll come with our microninja sample.
    I still can't believe it.. but now I don't see the Ninja team making this whole thing up. So, congrats to them! [​IMG]
     
  5. bryehn

    Member bryehn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    861
    Country:
    Canada
    i'll wait until region-free is an option
     
  6. H8TR

    Member H8TR GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    t-Dot
    Country:
    Canada
    Wait, if this plays GC backups, do they have to be burned on mini DVD 1.4 GB or can they be burned onto regular 4.7GB discs?
     
  7. kristianity77

    Member kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    Bewdley, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    either way this is a massive breakthrough!! Only sticky point is that ill no doubt end up getting a PAL Wii but all my gamecube backups are NTSC obviously to take advantage of the 480P support that my cube gave me with component cables
     
  8. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And how do you plan on getting a dump of the Wiinja chip code?
     
  9. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,102
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    Wow! I' really thinking of buying this. And because it's in Spain, I can pay with cash!
     
  10. C418

    Newcomer C418 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey, the domain wiinja.com is in use.
     
  11. Sil3n7

    Member Sil3n7 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    415
    Location:
    .:Outer Heaven:.
    Country:
    United States
    Omg I think my head just esploded!! 0.o
     
  12. PineappleH

    Member PineappleH GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    234
    Country:
    United States
    Question: Will the chip be shipped with a technician included? Because I have no clues on moding consoles [​IMG]
     
  13. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,299
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm REALLY hoping that the Wii chip is programable to play GC backups. That way, I can finally "retire" my Gamecube which has a chip in it.
     
  14. tisti

    Member tisti GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Damn, damn [​IMG] I hope it plays GameCube... Fantastic news!
     
  15. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Damn, that was FAST. Can't wait for GBAtemp's review. [​IMG]
     
  16. nunofgs

    Member nunofgs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Portugal
    What about Nintendo's firmware updates? will they still be able to performed and is there a chance they can detect/patch the mod chip?

    What about future games that have online modes (like metroid?)
     
  17. Sil3n7

    Member Sil3n7 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    415
    Location:
    .:Outer Heaven:.
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly Im gonna guess that Nintendo will take the Wii online as nonchalantly as the Ds so I dont think we will see much a resistance if any from getting banned and such. [​IMG]
     
  18. chillyp

    Newcomer chillyp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Country:
    Australia
    This looks pretty interesting. Looking at the wiring diagram the pins seem to match the IO connections on a PIC12C5XX. It might be possible those pins on the Wii motherboard are a part of the manufacturing process and someone has discovered a way to enable debug mode which would be used to test it after being built. A PIC12C5XX chip can only hold about 33 words worth of code so I doubt they are doing anything too wild.

    The bad thing is if the BIOS is updatable this could mean this attack vector could be quickly shut out. It might even be possible with a firmware update.
     
  19. nevixa

    Newcomer nevixa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I would really love this to be real. But....the video is from 17 December...at that time we didn't had any dumped games except them?
     
  20. qaz76

    Newcomer qaz76 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Fiji
    Yeh but it has news channel updatet allso wich come today.
     

Share This Page