13a breaking USB?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Luriden, Jul 14, 2009.

Jul 14, 2009

13a breaking USB? by Luriden at 9:24 AM (936 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Luriden
    OP

    Member Luriden GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Topeka, KS
    Country:
    United States
    I used to be able to load a game in USB loader, exit to the Wii menu, go to USB loader and load another game just fine. However, I updated to CIOS 13a so I could play Ghostbusters, and now when I play a game, back out to the Wii menu and try to load another game through USB loader, I get a black screen. I have to power off and power on my Wii in order to play another game without getting a black screen. It does this for USB Loader GX and Wiiflow (Wiiflow freezes up at the Please Wait screen after selecting a game).

    Anyone else had this problem? I really don't want to have to downgrade my CIOS since I need 13a for a lot of games.
     
  2. User423

    Member User423 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Thats a Bug in newer cIOS. Maybe Waninkoko fix this in rev14.
     
  3. Luriden
    OP

    Member Luriden GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Topeka, KS
    Country:
    United States
    I downgraded to rev10 and it's working again. Even Ghostbusters works now. I'm not sure why it wasn't working before, maybe I forgot to turn on anti 002...
     
  4. Logan

    Member Logan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    599
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had similar problems with rev13b. Wouldn't see my HDD. Reverted to rev10 and all is well again.
     
  5. iceache

    Member iceache GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    in Rev13 only 1 USB port will find HDD's.. so thats why..

    and that whole reboot thing is a Rev13 issue, and should be fixed in Rev14
     
  6. dinx2582

    Newcomer dinx2582 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    The required hard reboot to re-initialize USB is driving me nuts, but I'd only downgrade based on the pros and cons. Is downgrading from v13b to v10 is strictly a matter of ISO compatibility, or are there other underlying factors that would otherwise have an effect on the currently level of functionality found in 13b?

    If anyone knows roughly what games are affected by such a downgrade, that would be great!


    EDIT: I think I found the information I was looking for. Thanks anyways! (bits and pieces from a Google search, otherwise I'd have shared link(s).)
     
  7. Logan

    Member Logan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    599
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Think I'll just hold out for rev 14 tbh.
     

Share This Page