1 + 2 GB ram = 3 GB ram?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by nonnonnon, Aug 9, 2010.

Aug 9, 2010

1 + 2 GB ram = 3 GB ram? by nonnonnon at 4:45 PM (1,026 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. nonnonnon
    OP

    Member nonnonnon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    I will soon get a computer with slots for 2,3 or 4 (don't remember exactly) rams (is that the correct word for more than one ram?). will 1gb ram plus 2 gb ram become 3 gb or is it better to just use the 2 gb ram. sorry if this is a very noobish question.
     
  2. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Wht are the speeds on the ram sticks?
     
  3. nonnonnon
    OP

    Member nonnonnon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    The 1 GB ram is 667 mhz and the 2 GB is 800 mhz
     
  4. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Id personally say stick with the 2 gig stick by itself.

    Since the 1 gig is slower, the 2gig one will downclock itself to 667 mhz during use (not permenantly, obviously). So youd be going 3g@667mhz or 2g@800mhz. I would go with the 2gig, however feel free to test either way and see which works best for your needs.

    (I once stuck a 256mb@667mhz in with 2x512DDR@800mhz... my pc ran slower... dont tell anyone XD)
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you even need 3GB of DDR2 RAM? Probably not, so it's best to stick with the faster 2GB RAM.

    For reference, 32MB + 128MB = 160MB RAM (the maximum configuration in my old Toshiba Portégé 7010CT), so 1GB + 2GB = 3GB. It's simple maths, whilst the rest is just speed.
     
  6. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Stick with just the 2GB stick of ram. While using the 1GB together with the 2GB should work, mixing different types of ram together is generally a bad idea.
     
  7. nonnonnon
    OP

    Member nonnonnon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    Ok, thank you everyone! I will just use the 2 GB ram then.
     

Share This Page