Update 11.4 and Homebrew

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by GalladeGuy, Apr 11, 2017.

Apr 11, 2017

Update 11.4 and Homebrew by GalladeGuy at 3:09 AM (42,716 Views / 11 Likes) 446 replies

  1. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,171
    Country:
    Yes. The last number doesn't actually matter, just choose 999 (so 11.2.0-999U) and it should work.
     


  2. Charles_HCL

    Newcomer Charles_HCL Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    B.C.
    Country:
    Canada
    would i just rename it to OLD-11-4-0-37-USA.bin?
     
  3. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,171
    Country:
    If USA is the region of your 3DS. Also, be sure you downloaded the U payload (I believe it defaults to E).
     
  4. Charles_HCL

    Newcomer Charles_HCL Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    B.C.
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah i saw it default and i changed it accordingly. so i put the 11.2 otherapp into my hblauncher folder on sd root, renamed to OLD-11-4-0-37-USA.bin and started HBL again and same error screen

    EDIT: its cause i was holding x/y while booting, my bad. its works fine now
     
    Last edited by Charles_HCL, Apr 21, 2017 at 5:37 AM
  5. icefire82G

    Newcomer icefire82G Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Legitimate question here, do we know who's working on 11.4 exploits right now? And if so, do we know what leads we have, if any? I'm not entirely sure what's going on on the cfw/a9lh front, but a new primary exploit for the homebrew menu would be great for people, especially due to the doodlebomb debacle.
     
  6. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    I'm so high, I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    Most of the time exploits are kept under wraps until the devs see fit to release it. Usually after an update, granted it doesn't break said exploit. People on 11.4 just have to wait it out just like the 11.3 crowd did. Could be months.
     
  7. icefire82G

    Newcomer icefire82G Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    ah, i see. so we probably won't see anything for a while then?
     
  8. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    I'm so high, I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    More than likely, yes.
     
  9. Charles_HCL

    Newcomer Charles_HCL Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    B.C.
    Country:
    Canada
    Just keep your 3DS on 11.4 and dont update till you hear about hacks for 11.4. Thats what I did after not touching my 3DS on 11.3 for a month, then I hacked and updated.
     
  10. icefire82G

    Newcomer icefire82G Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    well i mean, that's what I planned on doing anyways. I was just hoping we'd hear about something soon, due to impatience i guess.
     
  11. Charles_HCL

    Newcomer Charles_HCL Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    B.C.
    Country:
    Canada
    unfortunately BL4Z3D is right, we dont usually hear about it until its ready, in case Ninty browses for this kind of info and find it to patch it out or it gets leaked to Ninty by some undesirable.
     
  12. icefire82G

    Newcomer icefire82G Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    well darn that really stinks. I bet they offer, like, stupid crazy rewards for that too.

    I really wish I installed a9lh before i transferred now, damnit.
     
  13. Charles_HCL

    Newcomer Charles_HCL Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    B.C.
    Country:
    Canada
    i mean im just speculating..
     
  14. duffmmann

    Member duffmmann GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Country:
    United States
    Forgive me as I'm sure its been asked at this point, but I'm not 100% sure on everything thats why I just want a straight answer.

    I'm on A9LH Luma 11.3 N3DS XL. If I updated to 11.4 now, will BootNTR Selector work properly (pretty sure it will as mine just updated to work with 11.4), and will DS and GBA titles load? I had read that they stopped booting on 11.4 A9LH. If so will I need to do anything on my end to ensure GBA and DS games keep loading? No rush to updated to 11.4 as I know its seems to be just another updated aimed at blocking piracy, but it's always nice to be rid of the pesky reminder asking you to update.
     
  15. needhelp3ds

    Newcomer needhelp3ds Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Who cares
    Country:
    United States
    will doodlebomb brick a 3ds
     
  16. icefire82G

    Newcomer icefire82G Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    none of the homebrew exploits will brick a 3ds as far as i know. they're just simple software exploits, that operate far enough above system level to avoid bricking, to my knowledge.
     
  17. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    I'm so high, I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    No. Bricks mostly happen when writing to the NAND and in most cases it's due to user error.
     
  18. PedroKeitawa

    Member PedroKeitawa GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    689
    Country:
    Italy
    Since i have update, but i still want to use the streaming feature for NTR (since at this moment is broken), there is a way for me to go back to the previus FW even with out a backup (unfortunaly i don't have a backup of the previus FW)? And in the process i will lose the game i have now on the home screen or they will stay even after come back on 11.3?
     
  19. OperativePi

    Newcomer OperativePi Member

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, all. Wondering something. Since UDSploit has been patched for 11.4, is it not possible to create a nand backup (since safehax won't function without udsploit) for the time being?
     
  20. Robz8

    Member Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4,989
    Country:
    United States
    Try 3Down to downgrade to 11.3.
     

Share This Page