Simple guide to install cIOS on vWii + backup NAND and keys

Discussion in 'Wii U - Tutorials & FAQs' started by [Truth], Dec 26, 2012.

Dec 26, 2012
  1. Phrixotrichus

    Newcomer Phrixotrichus Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Germany
    I reinstalled with d2x 52 and now everything works fine.
     


  2. Frost3r

    Newcomer Frost3r Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes the one that need to be plugged is an old WD 500 GB externally powered. But im waiting for my y cable that i ordered from ebay. You really think it looks like a power problem ? Anyway ill try the y cable with my USB 2.0 WD HD and ill reply here with the result when ill get it.
    Thanks for helping me.
     
  3. [Truth]

    Member [Truth] GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    Germany
    This was only a guess, since you already tried everything else.
     
  4. Frost3r

    Newcomer Frost3r Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    But ive seen somebody in the forum that even with his powered HD needed the y cable to work properly. So maybe this is the problem. I HOPE So...
     
  5. djricekcn

    Member djricekcn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    668
    Country:
    United States
    i finally got around getting usb loader gx...it's still not picking up the hdd nor it's contents.... am i not suppose to have it in wbfs format?

    it says USB device not found but it is on there. to prove it, wiiu asks me if i want to format when i boot up
     
  6. driverdis

    Member driverdis I am Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    643
    Country:
    United States
    try the other back USB Port.
     
  7. tony2002

    Newcomer tony2002 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    getting black borders around the edges of games on my tv, is there any way to get rid of this?
     
    jalaneme likes this.
  8. osaka35

    Member osaka35 Sleepy

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    United States
    Tried installing the d2x-v10-beta52-vWii that's in the package, but gave me an error message and wouldn't install. Reset and tried again, but still no go. I downloaded d2x-v10-beta52-vWii from a different source and it worked fine. Not sure if it was something messed up on my end or not, but thought I'd mention it.
     
  9. memk

    Newcomer memk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    Wouldn't load game. Black screen with white loading bar.
     
  10. twinkies

    Newcomer twinkies Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    So quick question - getting my a new hard drive cage tomorrow so I was getting all set up to do some brewing. Am I right in thinking that I am out of luck for now because I only have a 4 gig SDHC card and letter bomb isn't working, or will that not matter when I go to load homebrew and everything
     
  11. [Truth]

    Member [Truth] GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    Germany
    The problems with beta52 installation should now be fixed, the problem was mixing up the ciosmaps.xml, which causes errors.
     
  12. aaronhong13

    Newcomer aaronhong13 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Country:
    United States
    The update of the original post says "January 1st 2012"... This should be corrected to 2013. :P
     
    [Truth] likes this.
  13. samhush

    Newcomer samhush Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    So I followed the above tutorial to the letter and it worked great, thank you!

    But, like an idiot I accidentally deleted the contents of the SD card which I had dumped my vWii nand to. I went ahead and dumped it again (but it now has cIOS 249/250/251). My question is, is this a big deal?
     
  14. [Truth]

    Member [Truth] GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    Germany
    Hmm, you lost the purpose of the backup, the original files.

    But this is not such a big problem, you can always use original IOS wads from other vWii NAND dumps.

    More important are the keys, as they are unique to your system.

    Regarding the guide:
     
  15. yafaiz

    Newcomer yafaiz Old Salt

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey there Truth, just stopping by to say that this guide worked well enough.

    1 thing to mention why it wasn't showing the v10 beta 52 option at first was because the folder given here is not called "d2x-cios-installer" but is instead called "d2x-cios-installer v2.2 mod" when you run it in HBC it's looking for "d2x-cios-installer/d2x-v10-beta52-vWii" so if the folder is named as it is in the download you have, it won't find v10.

    Easy enough for me to figure out but could be the cause for others having issues.
     
    [Truth] likes this.
  16. [Truth]

    Member [Truth] GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks, i thought it was because i had beta52 mixed with ciosmaps from beta53.
    I will change this.

    Edit: fixed
     
  17. yafaiz

    Newcomer yafaiz Old Salt

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Australia
    Glad I could help.
     
  18. d.d.d.

    Member d.d.d. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Tokyo Metropolis
    Country:
    Japan
    I haven't found it (probably doesn't exist on a stock Wii U) but, there isn't a way to boot directly into Wii-mode, is there? Because with the Wii U's current OS speed, that would be great for playing Wii games (if when you powered on the system, you knew that's what you wanted to play).
     
  19. [Truth]

    Member [Truth] GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    Germany
    No, this is not possible.

    Update:
    - Updated USB-Loader GX link to r1208.
     
  20. rolandpibb

    Member rolandpibb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Canada
    Worked wonderfully. Thank you
     

Share This Page