ROM Hack [Release] Villain3ds - Basically freeShop but runs on your PC

Ptrk25

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
524
Trophies
0
Location
::1
XP
1,181
Country
Germany
@tranxuanthang I looked into your source code and I would recommend to change this line of code:
Code:
fileSize = parseInt(data.headers['content-length' ]);
I don't know JavaScript very well, but you should use parseLong, because otherwise Titles greater than 2100 MB cannot be downloaded (at least in my program (CDN-FX) it was the case (before I fixed it)).

Ptrk25
 
Last edited by Ptrk25,

tranxuanthang

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2015
Messages
289
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
605
Country
@tranxuanthang I looked into your source code and I would recommend to change this line of code:
Code:
fileSize = parseInt(data.headers['content-length' ]);
I don't know JavaScript very well, but you should use parseLong, because otherwise Titles greater than 2100 MB cannot be downloaded (at least in my program CDN-FX).

Ptrk25
Thanks, I indeed didn't aware of this. I searched more information about this and it seems like javascript isn't very strict about types like java or C. There is no parseLong in javascript. And I've just did some tests about parseInt:
Code:
console.log(parseInt('9007199254740992'));
//9007199254740992
console.log(parseInt('9007199254740992999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999'));
//9.007199254740993e+60
console.log(parseInt('900719925474099299999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999900719925474099299999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999900719925474099299999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999900719925474099299999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999900719925474099299999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999'));
//Infinity
Maybe our browsers and processors today is too powerful
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ptrk25

tranxuanthang

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2015
Messages
289
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
605
Country
Yes, it is.
It really isn't that hard to do, as it is just encrypted files on a filesystem by movable.sed and 0x10 keyX.
https://github.com/ihaveamac/fuse-3ds/blob/master/mount_sd.py
I understand the idea now. We can just insert our 3DS's SD card to the PC, and "mount" it with fuse-3ds. Then we can download and install games directly from PC to SD card without the need of 3DS with ultra-fast speed of an uhs-1 class10 64MB/s SD card. And last thing we have to do is install some small .tik files with FBI and we're done, right?
 
  • Like
Reactions: uyjulian

DocKlokMan

Plugin Dev
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
3,009
Trophies
2
Age
36
XP
4,571
Country
United States
I understand the idea now. We can just insert our 3DS's SD card to the PC, and "mount" it with fuse-3ds. Then we can download and install games directly from PC to SD card without the need of 3DS with ultra-fast speed of an uhs-1 class10 64MB/s SD card. And last thing we have to do is install some small .tik files with FBI and we're done, right?
Does your program also account for the Seeds too or do those need to be acquired separately? I'm also attempting to download a file title that's 3311MiB.
 

tranxuanthang

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2015
Messages
289
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
605
Country
Does your program also account for the Seeds too or do those need to be acquired separately? I'm also attempting to download a file title that's 3311MiB.
What do you mean the seeds? Are you mentioning the famous localfriendcodeseed_b?

And a friend of mine reported that the app generated several (most) corrupted cias with error "cert signature or hash check failed". I tested one and encounted the same error. The cetk was valid, but a content file's size is not match and is much more smaller than it shoulds. Tried redownloading it the second time and now that content file is corrected. So maybe the content download script is not reliable right now. If you download a large title on mac without any download manager supports right now, it'll very likely be corrupted. But you can try and report back to me.
 

DocKlokMan

Plugin Dev
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
3,009
Trophies
2
Age
36
XP
4,571
Country
United States
What do you mean the seeds? Are you mentioning the famous localfriendcodeseed_b?

And a friend of mine reported that the app generated several (most) corrupted cias with error "cert signature or hash check failed". I tested one and encounted the same error. The cetk was valid, but a content file's size is not match and is much more smaller than it shoulds. Tried redownloading it the second time and now that content file is corrected. So maybe the content download script is not reliable right now. If you download a large title on mac without any download manager supports right now, it'll very likely be corrupted. But you can try and report back to me.
No, not the friend code seeds, the crypto seeds for certain eShop titles. Games like Pokemon Sun and Moon have them, you can't run the game without importing the Seed for it which can be done from FBI or by visiting the games page on the eShop. Freeshop auto-installs the seed as far as I know.

The 3.2GiB download finished and made a CIA without issue, I'll test installing it now.
 

tranxuanthang

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2015
Messages
289
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
605
Country
No, not the friend code seeds, the crypto seeds for certain eShop titles. Games like Pokemon Sun and Moon have them, you can't run the game without importing the Seed for it which can be done from FBI or by visiting the games page on the eShop. Freeshop auto-installs the seed as far as I know.

The 3.2GiB download finished and made a CIA without issue, I'll test installing it now.
Ah I see, this is why in the past I installed PKM Sun or some games but when I open it, the 3ds freezes at the splash screen. This program only generate cias so it won't automatically acquire any seeds for now.
 

DocKlokMan

Plugin Dev
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
3,009
Trophies
2
Age
36
XP
4,571
Country
United States
Ah I see, this is why in the past I installed PKM Sun or some games but when I open it, the 3ds freezes at the splash screen. This program only generate cias so it won't automatically acquire any seeds for now.
3.2GiB downloaded CIA installed and tested fine. I had no issues with it. For now this apps seems to be working perfectly fine on MacOS, only feature requested is a region filter.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tranxuanthang

Joom

 ❤❤❤
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
6,067
Trophies
1
Location
US
Website
mogbox.net
XP
6,077
Country
United States
So only the zip version I uploaded on your website that requires manually copy make_cdn_cia is working then.
Is the github version output a 0kB make_cdn_cia_macos at ~/villain3ds? Or it could be related to the file permission. On linux, the app will chmod 755 for the make_cdn_cia file to make it executable. I might forgot to do the same for macos. Update: I made some changes so when you can please reclone github version and try to run it again.
I'll recompile when I get home. I didn't think to check the file size, but I did make sure the permissions were correct.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tranxuanthang

GnK23

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
170
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
671
Country
United States
Hi! thanks for the app. It works great. I have also made an .exe that goes well with villain 3ds. After generating the cia close villain3ds and open the .exe. This automatically deletes the raw files and open the CIA folder where the genereated one's are created. The reason why I made the script because the C: partition will soon be full of raw files from generated CIA. I hope this feature will be included in the future release
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_-Pud3uTCzod1FpSlVkRXZUUFk/view?usp=sharing
 
  • Like
Reactions: tranxuanthang

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BakerMan
    I rather enjoy a life of taking it easy. I haven't reached that life yet though.
    ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21: :lol: